Well, I thought when the primaries were over in Louisiana that was the last I would have to deal with all the commercials and such not until election time rolls around. I guess I didn’t take into consideration that we were moving to NC where they have their primaries REAL late. Therefore, we have been subject to all sorts of political commercials and visits from the presidential hopefuls since we relocated. Apparently, since we live in the “triangle” (Raleigh-Chapel Hill-Durham) and have a HIGH concentration of highly educated people (PhDs and MDs are almost the norm here) and retired Yankees (not the baseball team- but the geographical area) we have been targeted HARD! Today was just another example of those targeted efforts- Hillary came to Wake Forest and spoke about 1/4 mile from our apartment!

Travis and I were walking to “Meet in the Street” (downtown street festival/arts and crafts show) when we realized we were actually in time to see Hillary and I could get a picture. Her event started at 10am and since it was 11:30am when we were walking by, we thought we were safely late enough to miss it. We were wrong. Well, I NEVER miss a chance to get a picture of a famous person, so I was giddy with delight. It didn’t cost anything (we just had to go through a metal detector and have my purse THOROUGHLY searched,) so we were like- why not? We aren’t going to vote for her, but if she does become the next president, it will be cool to have a picture of a president. At the least, I now have pictures of a former first-lady. That brings up a question that Travis and I have been discussing lately, if Hillary wins, what will Bill be called- first husband, first man, first gentleman, the “former” president? Hmmm…. Anyway, she spoke in front of the Wake Forest College Birthplace Museum and was accompanied by the NC Governor, Mike Easley and his wife (I don’t remember her name other than, Mrs. Easley.) The first picture is a close-up of Hillary, the second picture shows Hillary and the Easleys and the last picture shows the museum with its old-timey half circle flag hanging from the balcony (I don’t know what those are called.) Since we were walking around downtown and it was kind of warm, I didn’t want to lug my DSLR around, so I used my cheap-o digital camera, therefore, please forgive the quality if it appears not as crisp as my normal photos.

EDIT: I have hung the wall letters I made and took a picture of the crib and a couple of other items we have acquired (Moses basket, growth chart, and blanket made by a lady from FBC Marrero.)

