I received my first dozen of the one-size diapers that I registered for today. I am SO EXCITED about these things. I just want Sam to hurry up and get here so I can put one on him- somehow I don’t think Peeper would approve of me testing diapers out on him. HA! I had Travis help me take a couple of pictures to show our blog readers the diapers. This first picture is of the entire set. Travis is holding the red one up to show what it looks like in its full size.

Now a close-up of the opened red diaper. I didn’t take a picture of the inside because it is just white fleece. Nothing super exciting!

Close-up of the orange diaper. I unpackaged it and stuff the “stuffins” in it to show what one looks like fully stuffed and ready to wear!!

I told Travis that during football season, Sam’s diapers are going to coordinate with whatever college team I am watching at that time. So when Clemson plays, he will wear the orange diaper and when Georgia plays he will sport his red one to cheer on his mom’s favorite team! WOO HOO! I can’t wait for college football.

These diapers are made by stay-at-home moms and are called Happy Heinys. You can find a link to their website under our “frequented sites” section or you can just click here. There are TONS of choices for cloth diapers ranging from super cheap prefolds (aka the old-timey rectangle diapers) to the kind that I received- one-size diapers. What this means is that you one diaper can be adjusted to fit your baby as he/she grows. Our Happy Heiny diapers will fit Sam from approximately 8 – 35 pounds! Hopefully, by the time the boy weighs 35 pounds he will be potty trained since cloth diapered babies tend to potty train quicker. People who are familiar with the traditional prefold method will know that you have to have a waterproof barrier over the diaper (I call them vinyl panties) to prevent leaks and contain poops. My diapers have the waterproof barrier sewn in- that is the colored part of the diaper. Therefore, these function just like disposables except we don’t throw them in the trash! They are lined with fleece, unlike a lot of one-size or all-in-one diapers, and this means less need for liners because poop doesn’t stick to fleece. You just take the diaper and shake it over the toilet and the poop falls off! (Sorry if this is too much information for some of you.) I will still need to use a liner if Sam ever has a diaper rash (cloth diapered babies tend to have fewer, if any, diaper rashes because their behinds can breathe and they tend to get changed more often) because Boudreaux’s Buttpaste (my diaper cream of choice) will cause the fleece to not absorb the urine. EWW! There is a pocket that opens in the back of the diaper where I will put the stuffing that absorbs the urine. This pocket is large enough that I can customize how much I stuff in there. If he is a heavy wetter, or at night, I can stuff more in (like a folded prefold) to help keep him dry and leak-free.

Anyway, that is an education on our diapers in a nutshell. If you are interested in supporting my “habit” I have created a diaper registry with a company in Greensboro, NC and you can shop from the convenience of your home and the diapers are shipped directly to me. You can find the link under “Baby Needs” or you can click here.

Man, I can’t wait for that little heiny to show up so I can make it happy. HAHAHA! Yes, I am a dork, but I am at peace with that.

Oh yeah, if you haven’t read about Peeper and I’s adventure this past weekend, keep reading below.

