From Pregnancy Pictures


Well, today marks the official start of my official countdown to the due date. I am 9 days from Sam’s due date! YAY! Wednesday, I went to the doctor for another glorious weekly check-up. Aside from having to go to the location that I have been trying to avoid, laying on the rather uncomfortable exam table for 50 minutes waiting on the doc (hurts a pregnant person’s back, by the way,) and not really having anything change from last week’s visit, I guess you could say it was a good visit. I am still 80% effaced and no dilation. The only thing that has changed is that Sam has officially “fully” dropped and is now at station “0” (last week he was “-1”.) This accounts for the plethora of bathroom trips I now make and the constant pressure I feel on my hip/pelvis bones. I, finally, saw the new female doctor in our practice. I have always gone to female doctors until we moved up here and now believe that I like the guys in the practice more than this lady. She was nice and all, but the guys seem to be more compassionate and not as rushed. I don’t like to spend hours at the doctor, but getting in and out in 20 minutes without feeling like it was only 20 minutes is NICE! I asked her about how much a baby gains in the last 4 weeks of pregnancy and she said it was between 1/4 and 1/2 of a pound each week. So, since Sam hasn’t done anything on the small side with regards to growth and weight this pregnancy, I am saying he will gain AT LEAST 1/2 pound each week. That means, that at almost 39 weeks, He is about 9.5 pounds now! WOW! I still don’t like the idea that I am on my way to a 10 pound baby, but there appears to be nothing I can do about it. I told Travis that Sam would DEFINITELY be an only child if he came out weighing in the double digits- he just laughed at me. I guess he doesn’t realize how serious I am about this…ha!

In other news, I have an awesome husband and feel the need to brag about him for just a bit. Our entertainment center that we received in New Orleans will not fit in our living room (I am sure it would now as we don’t have need for the TV to be located near a cable outlet, but that is beside the point) and so we put it in the nursery. Yes, that is right, Sam has an entertainment center in the nursery and we love it! The only other storage Sam has is a dresser I received from an aunt after she passed away, so the additional storage has been a welcomed relief. He didn’t have a closet (Travis uses the closet in the nursery) so Travis came up with the GREAT idea of hanging a large dowel rod in the hole where the TV would go to make a closet for Sam! It works GREAT as you can see in the photo below.

From Nursery Pictures


Well, we have been blessed with so many showers and gifts from friends and family that we are running out of space to store things in an organized fashion, of course. I was talking to Travis about this and he said we need some shelving to move Sam’s shoes and board books to. I mentioned a bookcase but he said that wouldn’t work because it would take up floor space that we don’t have (good point.) So, he said we should go to Michaels (yes, the craft store) and look at what they had in their wooden shelving section. And so we did! We found this set of 3 shelves that Travis said would work perfectly. Being very pregnant, I took a bathroom break after locating the shelves. When I returned, Travis had not only the 3 shelves, but 3 letters (S, A, W) and a small dowel rod. I asked what those were for and he excitedly exclamed they were going to be bookends on his book shelf. He showed me what he was talking about and I thought it would work. When we got home, Travis started to work on the book shelf. He drilled little holes in the bottom of Sam’s intial letters nad then cut the little dowel rod to fit in the holes on the letters. Then he drilled corresponding holes on the bookshelf for the letters to sit in. Finally, he glue the little dowel sticks into the holes and let it sit overnight. We hung the shelf the next day and I placed books and CDs/DVDs on it. I LOVE IT! We also hung the other two shelves in the nursery and put his shoes on it. He is so great at thinking up ways to organize things and do what I want done but just can’t quite figure out how to do it. I just tell him what I want and he runs with it- I am very thankful for that. Here are pictures of the shelves- we still have to stain them but that won’t occur until the next time we go to Travis’ parents’ house since we took all of our wood stain out there- oops!

From Nursery Pictures


From Nursery Pictures

In Peeper news, he is still a silly pup. I think he REALLY knows his world is about to change because he has had a little bit of an attitude lately. However, he is still friendly and fun and loving. He just likes to bark at us a bit more when we make him get in his “box.” He also cuddles with me most of the morning and afternoon, as long as he has a pillow to lay on- Lord Fontleroy (I am sure I spelled that wrong) is what my mom calls him when he does this. Anyway, we are excited for Sam’s impending arrival and can’t wait for Peeper to have a little brother to play with and entertain. In case you are wondering, yes, we will be “those” parents that let the dog near the baby and let him lick the baby. We don’t want him (Peeper) thinking Sam is off-limits because that would only cause problems as Sam grows up. Don’t worry though- we will keep a close eye on Peeper since he does have a tendency to get scared by unexpected movements. When we were hanging the aforementioned shelves in the nursery, Peeper discovered that he could hide out under the crib. There is a bouncer and crib bumpers that don’t really fit the crib under the crib and Peeper has discovered that he can fit under the crib, “fluff” the bumpers, and then lay down in peace and quiet AND dark! We made a rather horrible video (it is kind of difficult to get a cheap-o camera to record something in pitch black darkness, but I edited it as best I could to brighten it some) and I am posting it below. We just think it is funny that, now, whenever we go in the nursery, Peeper follows and heads straight for “his” spot under the crib. Maybe he is going to be Sam’s watchdog and look out for him. He is quiet when he is under there so an “intruder” could be caught completely off-guard. HA!!


