From Sam's Hospital Pics

Above is Sam’s birth announcement I created. I designed it before he was born because I knew that my computer time would be limited with all that goes with caring for a newborn- boy, was I right! This past week has flown by, has been very fun, and quite tiring. I have been to a doctor every day but one since Sam and I left the hospital! CRAZY! He has had problems getting his bilirubin levels down and weight up, but everything is getting better now. His bilirubin was at 21 when we left the hospital and 20 the next day at the doc. Therefore, the doc told us to pick up a bilirubin blanket and keep Sam on it 24/7. That was Tuesday. He FINALLY started having a significant drop in bili levels yesterday (Sunday) and we were told he could come off the blanket. It has been pure torture to not be able to hold him whenever I wanted- he came off the blanket for feedings and diaper changes and that was it, but it was for his own good. I also started pumping my milk and feeding it to him via bottle. This greatly increased his weight (gained 5 oz. in one day) and thus, we are continuing to do that. I also don’t enjoy it, but it does reduce my anxiety level regarding if he is getting enough food since we can see exactly how much he is receiving. I am also healing well (I think) from the delivery and am weaning myself off of pain medicine. This is producing a much more lively and active Sam which is fun- his facial expressions are priceless! Peeper has adjusted well and doesn’t scare Sam at all. The other day, Sam was laying in his Moses basket and Peeper was standing on the ottoman beside him barking up a storm. Sam slept through the whole ordeal (he wasn’t digesting drugged milk either- HA!) That was a relief since Peeper likes to bark. This morning, I took him to the doc (well, my parents took “us” since I can’t drive yet) and he now weighs 8-14 (10 oz. from birth weight) which is a great sign. Anyway, that is all of the “wordy” update… now on to the part you are all highly anticipating- the pictures!! Such a cutie!!!

This was Travis and I the night before I was induced- I was all baby!

From Sam's Hospital Pics

Beautiful profile shot

From Sam's Hospital Pics

Family pic before the left the hospital

From Sam's Hospital Pics

He loves to suck on things!

From Sam's Hospital Pics

Totally relaxed on his warm bilirubin blanket

From Sam's Hospital Pics

Mom, stop taking pictures!

From Sam's Hospital Pics

On our way to his first doctor’s appointment

From Sam's Hospital Pics

A favorite sleeping position

From Sam's Hospital Pics

Travis and Sam chilling out on the couch

From Sam's Hospital Pics

We haven’t started using our cloth diapers yet- look at this poop! It is exactly a week’s worth! CRAZY!

From Sam's Hospital Pics

You think he sleeps alot?

From Sam's Hospital Pics

Some good Momma lovin’

From Sam's Hospital Pics

I love baby feet! His are longer than my pointer finger!! Whoa!

From Sam's Hospital Pics

