Sorry for the delay in posting as I have been out of town without access to the Internet. Sam and I rode with my parents to visit my maternal grandparents this past weekend. We left Saturday afternoon and returned Tuesday evening. The drive down normally takes right around 4 hours but, with a newborn, it took us 6 hours down and 5 hours to return. All in all, Sam did GREAT riding in the car. He didn’t fuss until about 30 minutes before the trip was over both times! Way to go, buddy! We surprised my grandparents with Sam and I coming down. They knew my mom and dad were headed their way, but that was it. It was fun. They really enjoyed loving on their newest great-grandchild. Sam continued to be a good boy- sleeping all night (ok, well 6-7 hours at a stretch at night) and hardly fussing during the day too. My grandpa didn’t hear Sam cry until 2-3 days after we had been there and that was because Sam was hungry and had pooped. That combination would make me cry too! HA! While down there, my uncle (who works for GM) dropped by to meet Sam. Since he works for GM, they randomly give him new cars to drive around in order to run the miles up enough to be able to sell the car. At Christmas, he had a fully loaded HUGE red truck, recently drove a hybrid Tahoe (those are NICE, by the way) and is now driving a CORVETTE! He doesn’t like driving Vettes because they aren’t the most comfy vehicle to ride in or get in and out of. However, they make for GREAT pictures when you stick a 2 week old in the driver’s seat! HA! Don’t worry- the pictures are below.

Wednesday, Travis and I took Sam for his 2 week check-up. It went GREAT! The lady we saw was thoroughly impressed with the progress Sam has made. He has surpassed his birth weight and now weighs 9lbs 11oz. He has also gotten longer and is now 21.5 inches. He is in the 75% percentile for both measurements and thus is perfectly proportioned. He was alert and participatory throughout the whole exam and never fussed. Since he has passed his birth weight, we don’t have to keep up with our feeding/pumping/diaper changing chart. PRAISE THE LORD! I am also going to try to nurse more often at home, but stick to a bottle at night and when we are out and about. If it doesn’t work well, then I will continue pumping full-time, which hasn’t been the hassle that I thought it would be. The doctor also said that he was going to be a tall fella because of the length of his thigh bones. She said that doesn’t surprise her since neither of his parents could be classified as short.

Currently, we think Sam might be going through a growth spurt because he is eating more often. He has been eating 2.5 – 3 oz. of breastmilk every 3 hours but yesterday has was doing that about every 1.5 – 2 hours! It is wearing me out, but my littlest man needs to grow, so I am not complaining.

I also went to the doc for another check-up on my episiotomy. I can’t remember if I posted that whole story on the blog (and I am too lazy to read previous posts to see) but, due to the vacuum extractor being used, I had to have an episiotomy. I also further tore when Sam came out. It took the doc over an hour to stitch me up (ugh!) and half of it healed properly and the other half got infected- not a place you would want an infection. Two days after getting home from the hospital, I called to get a refill on the pain medicine they gave me (percocet) and the nurse told me I had to come in to be examined because I should not have still been in THAT much pain (what did I know? It was my first delivery?!) When I went in, the doc told me I had an infection and quickly prescribed more pain meds (YAY) and antibiotics and told me to come back in 1 week. Last Wednesday, I went back again and still had a little bit of an infection so she made me come back again this week. Two days ago, I went BACK in and got a clean bill of health. Woo hoo! Now, I just have to go in for the regular 6 week post partum visit with the doc that delivered Sam. I am finally getting my energy back and not talking out of my mind. If you have called our apartment in the last couple of weeks I am sorry if I made no sense, slurred my words, or simply don’t remember talking to you. I was just slightly doped up! HA HA!

Travis and Peeper are doing well. Peeper has adjusted well to Sam and is a great big brother. Tuesday night, Peeper would go to up to Sam in his bouncy seat and bark at him while in his “chase me” stance trying to get Sam to play with him. Sam would look at him and sometimes stick a hand out. It made Travis and I SO HAPPY to see them interacting this way. They are going to have SO MUCH FUN once Sam gets a bit older. Travis flies to New Orleans this coming Thursday for his dissertation defense, so please say a prayer for him at 8am (CST) on Friday, October 17th. He is currently finalizing his powerpoint presentation and has made all the recommended changes/additions to his dissertation. I am SO proud of him for sticking with the PhD program when there have been several times (Katrina being the biggest) that it would have been so easy to just hang it up.

Now, without further adieu, here are some of the pictures from Sam’s 2nd week of life! Hope you enjoy!!

I think little boys in the south shouldn’t wear white hooded bath towels- it could create some interesting questions…

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

4 Generations of the Williams’ family

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

Grandmama and Papa with their newest great-grandson

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

3 Generations of the Howell family (aka Steph’s family)

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

My mom and her best friend with Sam’s future wife, Sarah (she is 6 months old)

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

Sam is about to drive me somewhere in my uncle’s Corvette

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

Hmmm… it looks like Sam “marked” his grandpa with poop! HA!

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

A friend of my parent’s gave them these burp cloths. Judging by the above pic, maybe my dad’s should say “I poop”

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

Getting some good mommy’s milk in a bottle from Papa and Grandmama

From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip


From Sam's 1st Kershaw Trip

Sam’s cord fell off so he can now take big boy sink baths. YAY!

From October Sam Pics

Pretty sure his eyes will be blue and hair will be blonde

From October Sam Pics

His old drunk man look after he gets a full belly

From October Sam Pics

I love how he fell asleep holding onto Travis’ shirt

From October Sam Pics

