This morning, I went to my first MOPS meeting at North Wake Church. MOPS stands for Mothers Of PreschoolerS and that is what I am now. đŸ™‚ I loved it!! The “school year” actually started in October but this was the first time that I have been able to go. My small group of moms was responsible for bringing the food for everyone to eat this morning. I had NO CLUE what I would take- but knew it would be a cheap breakfast meal. I subscribe to E-Mealz and get weekly menus (complete with shopping list) for ALDI and therefore, a week of meals for us usually costs $35-40. They have several plans, but ALDI is the cheapest menu-wise and there is an ALDI in Raleigh, so it works great for us. Well, I downloaded my menu yesterday and, lo and behold, there was a breakfast recipe on it- Baked French Toast! Sounds yummy and the supplies were very few so I knew that is what I would do. To top it off, I did all the prep work last night because it has to sit in the fridge overnight before going in the oven. If you are interested in making it, here are the ingredients and directions:

Ingredients:

1 pkg French baguettes, cut into 2 in. cubes

7 eggs

2 c. milk, 4 tsp sugar, 3/4 tsp salt, 1 tbsp vanilla

4 tbsp melted butter

cinnamon sugar

confectioner’s sugar, maple sugar

Instructions

Place bread cubes tightly in a greased 9×13. Beat eggs, milk, sugar, salt and vanilla. Pour over bread. Cover. Refrigerate over night, 6-36 hours. Bake uncovered @ 350 for 45 minutes. Remove, baste with melted butter. Sprinkle GENEROUSLY with cinnamon sugar. Return to the oven for 5 – 10 minutes. Garnish servings with confectioner’s sugar and syrup.

Finished Product



From Sam January Pics


Travis picked up the ingredients at Target and it cost us a little over $8 for my meal! It was SO GOOD and several requests for the recipe were made.

When we got home and Sam needed a diaper change. I had a funny surprise awaiting me. They put stickers on the diaper letting moms know when their child’s diaper was last changed! I laughed SO HARD (and took pictures.)

From Sam January Pics


From Sam January Pics

Sam is OBSESSED with his Leap. Leap is a Leapfrog stuffed animal that, when we push his belly, sings the ABC song. It is really fun. I have it hanging from his jumper and Sam grabs it and kisses it whenever I push the belly and make it sing. Here he is giving leap a little bit of Sam-loving.

From Sam January Pics

Well, our supper is ready and so I am going to go serve it up. Behind me, Travis has Sam lying on his lap and is blowing raspberries on his barefeet. This is causing Sam to have MAJOR giggles. It is funny! He is such a good baby!
Steph signature

