I just want to take a moment (while Peeper is running around like a nut and Sam is asleep) to brag about my husband. A couple of weeks ago he was approached by a LifeWay employee to write two articles to be included in a new Sunday school manual they are producing. The title of the book (if my memory serves me correctly) is The How-To Sunday School Manual. He had to write an article on how to restart a Sunday school and an article on implementing background checks on volunteers. He had to have them written and submitted before the end of this month. Well, being the “Willy Workahead” that he is, he had them submitted about a week and a half after they were assigned to him. He received his check from LifeWay yesterday and has officially become “published” in a manner other than his dissertation! I am so proud of him. We aren’t sure when the book will come out, but we will definitely be purchasing a copy for his library. Here he is with his first writing “gig” check.

From Sam January Pics


I am still struggling with the whole lack of nap issue with Sam. I have started reading the book I referred to in my previous post. It is really good! It is telling me the EARLY signs of tiredness so that I can start soothing Sam and getting him ready to take a nap. Dr. Weisbluth says that once a baby starts fussing because he is tired he actually overtired and will not get as good of a nap, if any at all. I also feel kind of convicted about Sam’s bedtime. When we are home, he doesn’t go to bed THAT late (9pm) but, Dr. Weisbluth shows a chart listing average bedtimes for infants – teens and Sam’s bedtime is in the 90th percentile. I am TOTALLY ok with his height, weight, etc. being that high but his bedtime? No sir! I have talked with Travis and we are going to try to SLOWLY push his bedtime up to 8pm (the average is 7:30) which will make traveling interesting. However, sticking to this and getting his sleep habits established now will help with traveling because he won’t be so grumpy and unhappy when we aren’t home. I just felt like sharing, mainly as a warning…if we come to visit you, expect an early bedtime for Sam. His sleep fighting is wearing me out and I am determined to nip it in the bud. Speaking of sleeping, below is a picture of how Sam fell asleep a couple of nights ago. I think my angle isn’t the best because Travis looks like something you would see in one of those carnival fun house mirrors. Oh well…

From Sam January Pics


In other Sam news, he has discovered new toys on his Baby Einstein jumper. He has figured out that he can chew on the sun and thus, that is his favorite thing to do now.

From Sam January Pics


From Sam January Pics


In Peeper news, he is still trying to help do the laundry. I can’t figure out how to teach him how to load the clothes in the washer or move them to the dryer though. The only thing he knows how to do is keep the clothes warm once they come out of the dryer.

From Sam January Pics


In Stephanie news, there is no news. I don’t have a life. My life revolves around Sam and Peeper. I do laundry (a lot) and am working on organizing and cleaning our apartment. I really need to start doing my FlyLady stuff again. I am also feeling convicted about the amount of stuff I have in my apartment. This connects back to FlyLady because she says if you look at something in your home and it doesn’t make you smile then it needs to get out of your home- trash or donate. I want to start working on this because I think it will help our quaint little apartment not look so cluttered. I mean, really, do we need umteen million Magic cards (shh…don’t tell Travis!) πŸ™‚ I am starting to get my picture frames to match around the apartment. Call me OCD, but it has been driving me crazy that we have the wooden frames that are thrown together haphazardly and they are all different colors! UGH! I am simplifying and converting to all black frames. I think it will look aesthetically pleasing and very contemporary. So if you are wondering what to get me for my 30th birthday (next Thursday) I will gladly take cash, checks, or gift cards so I can get some black frames. I have a few already picked out that I would really like. πŸ™‚ I also want to tell you all about my birthday present from Travis (I already got him to spill the beans) but, I can’t do the story justice. So be looking for a post from Travis sometime within the next week to tell you about it. All I know is that he has gone WAY ABOVE the call of duty to acquire my gift and I am SO EXCITED about it.
Steph signature

