It is Sam’s morning naptime and I am not packing. Oops! Instead, I have been watching Regis & Kelly while checking out a new laundry cleaning detergent. Technically, it isn’t really a “new” detergent but it is fairly new to the US and is gaining popularity. It is soap nuts and you can visit their website by clicking on the different colored words in this sentence. There is a tree in China called the Soapberry tree and, like its name, the berries are soap! You just throw a couple in a bag (it comes with your order) and wash your clothes. Here is what the website says about soap nuts.

Soap Nuts are a 100% natural alternative to harsh chemical detergents and household cleaners. Eco-friendly, hypoallergenic, unscented, effective, gentle. They eliminate the need & expense for softeners & dryer sheets – astounding!

How cool is that?! Besides the allergy factors (a big thing in our home,) I really like that I wouldn’t need dryer sheets! Soap nuts don’t leave a build-up on your clothes and so supposedly, I could use them with my Happy Heiny diapers. I am not sure if I am willing to do that though. Anyway, my detergent, as calculated by Travis, costs us $0.08 per load to make. The soap nuts, if you buy their largest package (which will do 640 loads) costs $0.09. I don’t know if it is enough to convince Travis to make the switch because we would have to factor in shipping as well but, it is a thought. I will let you know if we go the soap nut route. It definitely won’t be until we finish all the detergent supplies we currently have on hand, so you might be waiting awhile.

While researching soap nuts, a commercial came on our TV advertising a study being done by UNC’s health research center. They are looking for healthy, overweight people to participate in the study. Does anybody else see the conflict in that statement? How is someone who is overweight also healthy? I realize that, according to BMI calculations, I am 10 pounds heavier than my ideal weight and therefore, I could be classified as overweight. I am OK with my weight though so I don’t worry about it. Are they looking for people like me who are “barely” overweight or are they looking for people who are obviously overweight? I once saw a woman get out of her car and was so overweight it, seriously, took her 15 minutes to get out of the driver’s seat. She had to spin herself sideways, use her hands to lift each leg out of the car, and then rock to get momentum to stand up. Is she the healthy, overweight person they are looking for? Anyway, all of this rambling is to ask what constitutes a healthy, overweight person- does that person exist? Hmm…

Alright, on to “the move”… we close tomorrow morning on our house. That is at least where we stand right now, we were notified last night of one last document that we need and, hopefully, it will get delivered today. If not, hopefully, we can still close and just get the document to her. Our mortgage lady knows we are good for it. We are super excited and cannot wait to get out of the apartment and have a backyard and driveway for Sam and Peeper to play in. Well, Peeper will play in the backyard because he is easily distracted and can’t be trusted in the driveway. Our “plan” is to spend tomorrow cleaning bathrooms, kitchen, and the carpet in the house. Travis is going to try to cut the grass if we get time (mainly in the backyard) so that Peeper can play out there while we move. The front grass has been cut but the back hasn’t and we are afraid we might lose Peeper in the backyard jungle if we don’t cut the grass first. HA! Then we will start moving things. We will start with the kitchen because it will be easiest for the two of us to deal with since there isn’t any heavy furniture in that room. We will continue moving smaller items on Friday as well. On Saturday, we have some friends coming over to help us with the “big” items. Travis’ parents are also coming over to help and keep up with Sam so I can get things settled in the house. We are so thankful for their help since babies are a bit selfish at times, even perfect ones like Sam. Tee hee!!

My personal goal, is to have everything unpacked, sorted, and organized by bedtime this coming Wednesday night. We will be leaving Thursday morning to go to Dandridge for a super-quick visit. My parents will be on a mission trip at the place where I used to work that week and we are meeting them over there so that Mom and I can go to SC for a family reunion on that Saturday. Travis will then go to his parents and pick up his woodworking stuff so that he will have that at the house. Mom and I will be driving a U-Haul back from my grandparents with the stuff we had to store down there when we moved to New Orleans. Once we get that stuff back in our house we can be fully organized and start the exciting (to me) part of decorating. I LOVE hanging pictures and decorating!

Anyway, this was a long, wordy post so thanks for being patient and reading all of it. I will reward you now with some pictures.

It was really warm one day and I let Peeper play on the deck. I didn’t hear him moving around so when I went to check on him, this is what I found.

From May Pictures

Here is the long awaited Easter picture and a few out-takes from that shoot.

From May Pictures


From May Pictures


From May Pictures

This still is the funniest thing that has happened this month.

From May Pictures

First picnic…

From May Pictures

In honor of the new Star Trek movie (which we haven’t seen but really want to)

From May Pictures

Mom, let me play with my laptop!!

From May Pictures


From May Pictures

We have mobility!! Here is where Sam ended up one morning.

From May Pictures

This is how I found him yesterday morning when I went to “wake him up.”

From May Pictures

Hope you enjoyed this LENGTHY post. It might be awhile before I post again but just be patient.
Steph signature

