Well, today is Sam’s 1st birthday and it has been a great day! I will tell you more a bit later. First, I want to show you what Sam looked like one year ago today…

From Sam's Hospital Pics


Now, to see how much he has grown. Here is Sam trying to avoid having his pants taken off at his birthday party with Travis’ side of the family.

From Sam's Birthday Parties


Now, on to the birthday pics. We took quite a few so I will just show similar ones from each party. The first set with with the Wright side of the family and this party occurred Labor Day weekend.

First, is the cake eating. Sam was a bit uncertain about this and sat there and picked the confetti sprinkles off of his cake before picking the icing balloons off BEFORE finally getting into the rest of the icing.

From Sam's Birthday Parties


Then he enjoyed opening his presents and seeing all the cool stuff people gave him.

From Sam's Birthday Parties

The next pictures were from yesterday with my side of the family and a couple of friends from the area.
Here is a picture of the cake I decorated all by myself. I am quite proud of this cake- my cake decorating class definitely paid off!

From Sam's Birthday Parties


Now, here is Sam eating his caterpillar cake.

From Sam's Birthday Parties


Here he is checking out some of his gifts.

From Sam's Birthday Parties


Both of his parties were tons of fun and Sam enjoyed each of them. I can’t wait for more birthday parties as I am sure they will get more exciting with each passing year.

Now on to today, his actual birthday. My parents are visiting and so we all got up, got ready, and went to church. After church, we headed to the NC State Farmer’s Market Restaurant for lunch. It is such a good restaurant and almost everything produce-wise comes from the farmer’s market that is located right across the parking lot. Sam was a PIGGY! He ate some of my mom’s, mine, and Travis’ lunches. My dad had breakfast so he didn’t share. HA! Sam ate beets (1st time- loved them,) hamburger steak, peaches, green beans (he cried with the waiter took away the green beans,) banana pudding, chicken, and sweet potatoes. Then, we stopped by Pullen Park on the way home. At the end of the month, Pullen park will be closing their carousel down for a year in order to do repairs. I have heard of this park from several blogs that I read and have been wanting to go there. I didn’t realize until last night just how close to the farmer’s market it was. Therefore, we stopped there today. Here is Sam enjoying his carousel ride. The first time he rode the carousel, he rode it with Travis and since Travis didn’t have a ticket he couldn’t actually “ride” on an animal. Sam didn’t want to ride on the horse by himself so Travis ended up holding him the whole time. Here is their picture.

From Sam's Birthday Parties


Then, my mom and I bought tickets and actually rode on the animals with Sam. I guess he enjoyed it. He didn’t fuss but he just sat there and sucked his thumb the whole time while holding onto the pole. I had to sit up on the hump on the back of the saddle so Sam could ride in the saddle with me. It was quite uncomfortable. HA!

From Sam's Birthday Parties


After the carousel we rode a little train around the park. He rode in Travis’ lap for this ride but I didn’t have a picture of it. I took one and it didn’t make the move from my camera to the computer apparently. Oops!

Anyway, after that, we came home and chilled out for a little while. My parents gave Sam some fridge farm magnets and he enjoyed playing with them and the cooler, so he did that for part of the afternoon.

From Sam's Birthday Parties

Now on to the next holiday that will be celebrated in our house- HALLOWEEN! We got Sam’s costume yesterday. All I know is that I think this is the world’s cutest YODA!

From Sam's Birthday Parties

We go to the doctor tomorrow for his 12 month check-up and I am very interested in seeing how much he has grown. I will post that information a bit later. I hope you have enjoyed my birthday post. There are a lot more pictures in our online album and you can view them by clicking here.

Adios!
Steph signature

