I managed to cook ALL of our dinners, and subsequent lunches, this week! I am so proud of myself. I can’t remember the last time we ate all meals (minus 1) at home. Whew! It has been good and it even made lunch on Wednesday after MOPS feel like a special event instead of the same old thing. I have this software program on my computer that keeps up with my recipes and enables me to upload pictures to the various recipes. If you own a mac, it is called YummySoup and it is phenomenal. It will make your grocery list (and combine the various totals of items- like 2 cups of sugar instead of listing 1 cup of sugar twice) and even read the recipe to you! If reading the recipe to you isn’t a great feature for visually-challenged people, you can view the recipe in a large font on a full screen. AWESOME! So, since it is my blog and I am proud of myself, I am going to post pictures of each of our dinners. If you want one of the recipes, just let me know. Every meal was done in the crock pot so I just had to fix a side each night when Travis came home from work. Anyway, without further adieu…
Sunday night- Meatballs in Burgundy Sauce (the New Orleans in me wants to call it Burr Gunn DEE instead of the normal pronunciation- HA!)

From January Fun


I think Sam ate his weight in meatballs. He LOVED them.

Monday night- “Simply Delicious Pork” (aka pork loin with golden delicious apples)

From January Fun


It was my least favorite but that is because I am just not a fan of cooked apples.

Tuesday- Cheesy Crockpot Chicken

From January Fun


This made enough for Wednesday night supper as well.

Thursday- Pork Loin with Sherry and Red Onions

From January Fun


Yeah, we are still eating on it.

Friday- Cashew Chicken

From January Fun


It was SO GOOD and we have enough left over for 2 more meals. WOO HOO! I will just have to make more rice- not a problem.

Sam has been kind of puny this week. We took him to the doctor last week for an ear infection and sinus infection. He has been on antibiotics for over a week now and everything is finally breaking up. It has left him with a nasty cough though. He gets to coughing, mainly when he is eating, and just looks so pitiful…

From January Fun


The antibiotic he was prescribed this time gave him a HORRIBLE diaper rash. He would scream ballistically anytime we changed his diaper. We took him back to the doctor at the beginning of this week and she gave us a prescription for “Magic Buttocks Cream.” No joke…

From January Fun


At times though, Sam had spurts of energy and enjoyed being his goofy self. Here he is using a toilet paper roll as chinese handcuffs. It was hilarious watching him try to get his hands out of it!

From January Fun


From January Fun

In other news, I have also done a phenomenal job up keeping up with our family budget so far this year. I used to subscribe to Crown financial’s Mvelopes because we are fans of the envelope system after taking the Crown Financial class at our former church in Tennessee. However, once I switched to a mac, I discovered a program that does the exact same thing but without the monthly fee. So, of course, I switched. It is simply called “Budget” and it is great and easy to set up and use. My reason for not being super dedicated to using it has been because I don’t think of it when I get home. Well, I can’t use that excuse anymore. Over Christmas, they released a version for the iPhone/iTouch. Since I have an iTouch and it goes EVERYWHERE with me, I can now update our budget on the go and sync with my desktop version. SO GREAT!

For those of you still reading, thanks. I didn’t set out to write such a lengthy blog. Oops!! I hope you all have a great weekend.

