Today, during Sam’s nap, I reorganized our pantry. Honestly, I don’t think it was originally designed to be a pantry- probably more like a linen closet. It is actually in our hall but super convenient to the kitchen. I don’t have the cabinet space in the kitchen to store everything and make it easy to get to so I have been trying to utilize my “pantry.” However, I haven’t really had it organized to make it easy to use- until today. Here is a picture of the pantry before showing that cleaning stuff was interspersed amongst food- probably not the best thing in the world.

From Pantry Redo


Mainly during Sam’s nap, I emptied the closet and move the cleaning stuff around. I still have some cleaning supplies in there but it is only the ingredients to make homemade stuff so it is safe to store with the food- no harsh chemicals. We have a lazy susan cabinet that I loathe. I had stuff stored in there that I totally forgot about. For example, I had recently put Ranch dressing on my grocery list. However, today I found a bottle of ranch in the pantry AND in the lazy susan. I didn’t even have a system set up to keep like things together! When I realized this, I emptied the lazy susan too (isn’t that how it usually happens- one project leads to another) and once I organized the pantry was able to fit everything in the pantry except the various oils, cooking wines, and spices. I don’t want those in the pantry anyhow- they need to be quickly accessed while I am cooking. Well, while I was starting to unload the lazy susan, Sam woke up and decided he needed to help me. He was such a good helper- he just plopped himself down and handed me each item on the top shelf and then moved to the bottom. It was great! Here is my helper…

From Pantry Redo


From Pantry Redo


(yes, I am wearing toe socks- I love them!!!!)

Well, once everything was out of the lazy susan and integrated into the pantry I took an after picture to show my progress. It looks much better!!

From Pantry Redo

Now, you should go organize something…

