Several years ago, I bought a brand new quilt rack for $10 (it was on sale but actually priced incorrectly- it was originally $40 and was supposed to have been on sale for $20.) Since then, it has hung out in its box in my grandma’s house. When we bought our house last year, we started corralling up all that we had stored in various relatives’ houses. Therefore, the quilt rack made it to NC. It still stayed in the box because I couldn’t convince myself to put our wedding quilt (made by a dear church member at FBC Dandridge, TN) on it and tempt our dog. He likes to mark blankets periodically and I don’t enjoy washing them. Well, right before we moved from our apartment, my cheap-o wooden clothes drying rack broke. I didn’t buy a new one because I didn’t want to add to the stuff we would already be moving. So for several months, I threw clothes that needed to dry across the tops of doors throughout our house. It was quite a sight at times. One day, I was working in a room and came across the quilt rack box. Then it dawned on me that I could use the quilt rack as a drying rack! It works great because it is much sturdier than our previous clothes drying rack and won’t lean, bow, or collapse when 3 sweaters are draped on it. That is why drying clothes on the quilt rack works for me!

From Pantry Redo


In the picture above, you can clearly see that I am currently drying pee pads. In an effort to curb recurring expenses, we bought reusable pee pads instead of disposable since our eldest son, the dog, refuses to potty outside during cold or inclement weather. Positioning the quilt rack over the air vent helps everything dry quickly without interfering with the airflow!

In case you are wondering, the wedding quilt is still carefully folded in our guest closet and will probably remain that way until Sam and our dog, Peeper can be trusted with it.

