Tomorrow is Mardi Gras Day. Since we no longer live in SEBTS housing, I decided to take advantage of my new storm door and decorate a Mardi Gras wreath. I have never made a wreath before and need more practice. However, I think my wreath will suffice for now. I wanted to get some Mardi Gras garland to wrap around the wreath and hide the grapevine. Since I waited to the last minute, and no longer live on the Gulf Coast, I couldn’t find any. Therefore, I did buy the rope with the masks hanging from it and the masks. Everything else I already acquired by catching them at parades. I have a plastic toilet from a Tucks parade a couple of years ago but, I couldn’t figure out how to attach it to my wreath. HA!

I have decided that I am now going to have a different wreath for each month. I haven’t been able to do that because my wreaths would either get blown off the door or wind damaged. Now, the storm door will protect them. YAY! Therefore, for February my wreath will be a Mardi Gras wreath. Next year, it will look better because I will have located some garland and some authentic masks with feathers- even if I have to go to the Quarter to get them! Here is my wreath…

From February 2010

I also gave Sam a few beads to play with. Apparently, he knew exactly what to do with them because he immediately put them around his neck. In the top picture, he is trying to get the yellow set off and looks like he is choking himself. In the bottom, he is just having a good time with the beads.

From February 2010


From February 2010


Laissez le bon temps rouler!

