Our church, Oak Grove Baptist held their spring festival today. There were jump houses, cotton candy, snoballs (I mean, snow cones- I forgot I’m not in N’awlins anymore,) games, an egg hunt, and TONS of kids and adults. When we arrived, Sam headed straight for the jump houses. We kind of hung out over there for awhile debating on whether to let him in or not. There were lots of big kids jumping around and we didn’t want Sam to get trampled. One of the guys in our Sunday school class was “manning” one of the jump houses and he made the big kids hop out for a little while so little kids could play. We decided then that it would be OK for Sam to get in. So he did…

From April 2010


and that was the only picture I took because I really don’t like how it looks since it is taken through the screen window. Anyway, Sam played for a little while and then discovered the stairs to the slide. I climbed in and helped him up the stairs. Thankfully, a child of another couple in our Sunday school class was up at the top and so she reached down and grabbed Sam’s arms and helped pull him up while I pushed. Then we slid down…

From April 2010


After that, Travis and I enjoyed a snow cone. Sam ate a little of it when Travis offered some to him. I think he mainly got ice and he loves ice. While some of the adults hide the Easter eggs, the children and their parents were in our fellowship hall where the children’s minister shared the Easter story via Resurrection Eggs. I took a couple of pictures. The first picture is zoomed in so that the Resurrection Eggs can be seen and the second is just to show a glimpse of the crowd we had.

From April 2010


From April 2010


Sam’s attention span doesn’t really allow for him to listen to the story of Easter through the eggs. Therefore, he checked out the back of the building.

From April 2010


Once the Gospel had been presented to everyone, we had our egg hunt. Sam didn’t get as many eggs at this hunt like he did at the one up at the seminary because there were a ton of kids in his age group hunting eggs. He did find a “special” egg and won a DVD! Here are some egg hunting pictures.

From April 2010


From April 2010


From April 2010


I will conclude with my favorite picture of the day. Sam is becoming quite adept at sticking out his tongue. He does it whenever he is climbing or doing something “difficult.” Apparently, figuring out how to get an egg out from under a slide without touching the prickly mulch is one of those tasks.

From April 2010


I am looking forward to Easter Sunday tomorrow. I will be playing my cello with the choir and am super excited about it. It will all also be great to celebrate Christ’s resurrection with our church family.

