Travis had to go to Criswell College for a SACS accreditation visit. He was gone from Monday through Thursday of this week. Therefore, Sam and I went to SC to visit my grandparents. Sam really enjoyed himself. He was non-stop almost the entire time!!!
One of the first things we did, was check out the dandylions. My grandma tried to teach Sam how to blow them. He mainly would sniff and then figure out he could pull them off and let them fly through the air like that. He enjoyed playing with those daily.

From April 2010


I found a caterpillar and Sam enjoyed playing with it. The first couple of times it wiggled while he was holding it, Sam dropped it. However, after about the third time, it didn’t bother him and he held onto it long enough to carry it from the “road” and put it in the straw.

From April 2010


From April 2010


I love this picture of my “boy” with his first caterpillar.

From April 2010


From April 2010


Once the caterpillar was safe, it was off to the lake…

From April 2010


So pretty… (but I wish I had my polarizing filter on so the sky would be bluer- oh well)

From April 2010


Grandmama taught him how to throw rocks in the lake. His never went too far but you can see her rock hitting the water.

From April 2010


From April 2010


He then wanted to get in the lake. Since he was wearing his “play” sandals, we let him. I really think he is going to be a water baby (aka fish) like his Mama. πŸ™‚

From April 2010


From April 2010


Cute post-pond feet…

From April 2010


The next day (Tuesday) Papa and I took Sam to the park. The last time we were down there, my parents and I took Sam. Therefore, I won’t post as many pictures. Just some of the cuter ones.
I think it is funny to see Papa headed to the “tot lot.”

From April 2010


Papa and Sam in the Springs Cotton Mill. I think Papa used to work in that mill- the real one though. πŸ™‚

From April 2010


He finally walked through the tunnel more than he crawled.

From April 2010


He went swinging…

From April 2010


and so did Papa.

From April 2010


A larger view of the toddler play area. There is a sandbox on the right side that you can’t really see and I am standing in front of the swings.

From April 2010


After we left the park, we went to my great-Aunt and Uncle’s gas station. Sam enjoyed himself. My Aunt Margie gave him a bottled water (he was HOT) and some cheese crackers. He LOVED those crackers. Here he is trying to act like one of the men while eating his crackers.

From April 2010


From April 2010


This next picture looks uneventful but, it is the first time I remember seeing him go up a step without holding onto ANYTHING! Yay, Sam!!

From April 2010


Wednesday, we mainly ran some errands. One of those errands consisted of visiting my great-great-Aunt Lorraine. She broke her hip and is in a nursing home for rehab. She is at the same nursing home my great-grandmother was in. I immediately recognized the parking lot because the last time I went to visit her (or at least I think it was the last time) I slid on some gravel and tore ligaments in my ankle- what a crazy memory to have! HA! Anyway, we got a picture of Sam with his great-grandmother and his great-great-GREAT-Aunt Lorraine. WOW!!! (getting all three of them to look at the camera was kind of difficult. Therefore, I am posting the one of my aunt looking at me. Who knows what Sam was looking at- HA!)

From April 2010


Thursday morning, we headed back home. We had to pick Peeper up at the kennel that afternoon in order to not have to pay for an extra night. It was a great trip!

If you want to see more pictures from the trip, just click on “April 2010” under the “Our Photo Albums” section at the top of the right column. There you can see all the pictures from the month that I have uploaded. Also, if you haven’t read about our family trip to the children’s museum this past Saturday, keep reading. πŸ™‚

Enjoy!

