Two days after we got back from visiting Travis’ parents, we went to Mississippi to visit mine. This was the first time that all of us drove down together for a visit since Thanksgiving right after Sam was born. The few times Sam and I have been back, we’ve flown and Travis hasn’t been down since he graduated with his PhD. Needless to say, it has been awhile and we were looking forward to it. Sam did GREAT on the car ride down. Coming and going, we spent the night in Commerce, GA so that we could break the trip up and not torture him too much. He slept in a hotel bed with Travis and I slept in the other bed with Peeper. It was kinda funny.

While we were down there, we visited the New Orleans zoo. My dad took a day off from work to go with us. It was H-O-T! Sam mainly rode in the stroller because the heat was zapping his energy and making him grumpy so he couldn’t really see any small animals- only the big ones. He did seem to enjoy the ones he saw though. He especially loved the Louisiana area with the alligators. Thankfully, there was glass separating him from the gators because Sam obviously has no fear of gators right now. Here are a few pics from that outing…
Can you tell he was hot? 🙂

From May 2010


Trying to cool him off. I think they kind of freaked him out a bit but he didn’t seem to mind them too much.

From May 2010


Sam with the various gators…

From May 2010


“Give the gator five, Sam”

From May 2010


From May 2010


I like this picture of the white alligator…

From May 2010


I let Sam take a picture with my camera. HA!

From May 2010


“Give the gator a hug, Sam”

From May 2010

We wore Sam out, so he slept all the way to NOBTS and then continued his nap on one of the couches in the student center while Travis and I visited with friends we haven’t seen in AGES. It was great to feel “back home.”

From May 2010

That night, we took Sam to the beach in Mississippi to see if this would be something we could do later and spend a bit more time out there. I was glad that the oil spill hasn’t impacted their beach too much yet. Sam wore his water shoes so that the sand didn’t get in his feet- he hates that. He and I walked into the edge of the water and he enjoyed it until the “undertow” (which is almost non-existent down there) started making his feet sink in the sand. He didn’t like that one bit.

From May 2010


From May 2010


Travis got a bit distracted by a dead armadillo so the rest of the pictures he took while we were on the beach were entirely of the armadillo. I will post one of them here. If you wish to see others, click on the picture and you can look through the album. He took QUITE A FEW! HA HA!

From May 2010


Ok, I lied. I am going to post two. The one above shows that armadillos have hairy tummies- something I wasn’t aware of. The next one is Travis’ favorite picture of the armadillo. He feels it is “artsy.”

From May 2010

While we were down there, Travis and I went to the wedding of a girl who is like an adopted sister to us. Travis worked for her dad at the seminary and FBC Marrero and they became very close friends. We REALLY enjoy hanging out with their familiy and Travis actually spent one day with Archie in addition to the wedding and when we all (Sam included) went back for one other visit. Because we only eat sushi when we have childcare, we took advantage of being childless and ate sushi before the wedding. The restaurant we went to had a phenomenal lunch menu and Travis got a TON of sushi for $7.50. I felt the need to take a picture to share it with our blog readers. To my delight, it even came in a BOAT! HA!

From May 2010

Sadly, I didn’t take any pictures at Courtney’s wedding. We did get to visit with more faculty and FBC Marrero friends while we were there. It was so much fun!

When we got back from the wedding, my parents were at Pizza Hut with Sam. Apparently, Sam eats pizza?! We didn’t realize this! HA HA! He enjoyed the cheese-stuffed crust the best but he ate the main part as well. My mom brought along a chocolate pudding for dessert. I think that was Sam’s favorite part. Thankfully, he filled up on the pizza so he didn’t eat the entire pudding. Here is a picture and a video of the pudding fun…

From May 2010


On the way home, we spent the night (again) in Commerce and ate supper at the Cracker Barrel. Travis had Sam playing with a milk carton and taught him how to “drink” from it. Thankfully, it was empty or else I think we would’ve had milk EVERYWHERE. Here is a picture and a video…

From May 2010


We also stopped in Salisbury, NC to eat lunch. When we decided that we were going to do that, I called my cousin and he met us at one of the local restaurants. While we waited on our food, Sam entertained himself with a napkin and figured out how to make a hat with it. My cousin is also taking a picture with his iPhone and, for some odd reason, I think that is neat that he is doing that in my picture. Cut me some slack… I am tired. HA!

From May 2010

It was a great trip but very short. We were only able to spend a little over 3 whole days actually in Mississippi with my parents. I hope we can visit again soon.

