Today was a pretty calm day, for us, until Travis finished all of his meetings. It wasn’t a calm day for Montrealers. Today was Le Fete Nationale (aka St. John the Baptist Day or Quebec Day) and was a celebration of all things Quebec. I will write more about it a bit later in this post.

For lunch, we ate at a restaurant called, Montreal Poutine (pronounced Poo Teen) since EVERYTHING I have read says that to eat authentic Quebec food, you MUST eat poutine. It was created here. It is french fries topped with some kind of meat gravy and cheese curds. There are lots of different variations but they all build on the gravy and cheese curds. You can read more about it here.

I ordered the original poutine- fries, gravy, cheese curds.

From June 2010


Travis ordered the onion and mushroom poutine.

From June 2010


We each ate half of our original dish and then we switched! HA! It was some kind of good and I hope to eat it one more time before we head home. I have decided that I REALLY LIKE cheese curds.

While Travis was in meetings this afternoon, I hung out in the hotel room again. Since today was a holiday, I actually found the parade that I wanted to attend being televised on Canadian TV. Therefore, I watched it from the comfort of my room. It was called the Parade of the Giants because there were 16 (I think) giants that were created to represent different aspects or history of Quebec. It was really neat to see them. I took a couple of pictures of what they showed on TV and then made a short video of the parade. The giant I am posting below represents the Montreal Canadians, the NHL hockey team.

From June 2010


From June 2010


Below is the video I made. Obviously, I don’t know what the announcers are saying but the parade is cool to watch regardless.

After Travis was done, we hopped on the metro and went to LaRonde which is the Six Flags park on an island in the St. Lawrence River. We had a blast!! We took a TON of pictures. I will post a few below but to see more, click on any picture and go to our June photo album and take a look.

From June 2010


The first thing we did was eat supper. In our constant attempt to not eat something we can get at home, we ate crepes for supper. There was this little restaurant that did meal crepes in addition to traditional dessert crepes. Travis had a crepe with mushrooms, mayo, corn, tomato, and cheese. Mine was a hamburger crepe so it had a hamburger patty, cheese, corn, tomato, mayo, and lettuce. They were delish. Here is a picture of my crepe being made and then one of the inside once it was folded up.

From June 2010


From June 2010


We then rode a ride similar to Disneyworld’s monorail. It enabled us to get a bird’s eye view of the park and rides and see where we wanted to go first. I took a few pictures but we got better ones later on another ride. Once we got off that ride, I rode a roller coaster by myself- Travis isn’t a roller coaster fan. I walked right up to it and hopped on. It was great because there wasn’t a large crowd. The roller coaster was called The Goliath and it was HUGE and F-U-N! It never went upside down but we had quite a few almost vertical drops. Travis took some pictures of me when I was coming back in to disembark. (Hint: I am in the 6th row wearing a pink shirt)

From June 2010


Here is a picture of the entire ride.

From June 2010


After I got off, we went to ride the Toboggan ride. I don’t remember the exact name but it is supposed to be like you are in a bobsled. They had 4 bobsleds- Canada, USA, Italy, and Jamaica. I was SO EXCITED that we got to ride in the Jamaican bobsled. It made me think about the movie, Cool Runnings. We had fun laughing throughout the ride. We have decided that Travis was a bit too tall for it because he had to carefully maneuver his legs to get them to fit without his knees constantly hitting the front. Here is a picture of the ride.

From June 2010


Then we rode their version of a space needle. It is a glass enclosed ride that slowly spins you around while taking you up a TALL pole. This is where Travis made GREAT photos of the park and city. Here are a few of my favs.

From June 2010


From June 2010


From June 2010


Then we headed to a diving show at the Marina. It was neat! They had 5 divers, 4 guys and a girl, who jumped off various platforms and did all sorts of stunts and tricks. They had a really high tower that one guy jumped off off, too.
They started out by jumping out of windows onto trampolines and bouncing back in a window or up on the ledge. It was kinda neat.

From June 2010


From June 2010


Then a guy did a short balancing routine out on the end of one of the diving boards.

From June 2010


FINALLY, they started diving and it was awesome!

From June 2010


From June 2010


From June 2010


They concluded with the guy jumping from their tallest tower. You can see him in the picture below if you just look hard enough.

From June 2010


His jump was amazing.

From June 2010


From June 2010


We finished our time there by riding the Gondola (aka ferris wheel.) We took some more pictures but it was getting dark and we didn’t use our flash so a lot of them didn’t turn out too well. Here are a few though.

From June 2010


From June 2010


Once we left we rode a bus back to the metro. Before going in the metro though, we stopped to take a picture of this thing called the Biosphere. It reminds me of the big golf ball ride at Epcot.

From June 2010


Tomorrow, we are going on a 3 hour guided tour which will take us to other parts of the city. We don’t have anything planned after that though. We thought that we will use this tour as a chance to see what else is “out there” and then decide if we want to revisit any of those. If not, maybe we can at least go visit the ONE AND ONLY Wal-Mart in Montreal! That is a definite reminder that we are not in the US where there is at least one Wally World in every town. I am looking forward to checking out more places and getting more pictures. I hope you have enjoyed our trip so far, I know we have!

