Well, July has started off GREAT! Krispy Kreme donuts and Cheerwine soft drink (both natives of North Carolina) have teamed up to create KK donuts stuffed with a Cheerwine “Kreme” and they will only be available in the Carolinas for the month of July. Sam and I hit the local grocery store yesterday (July 1) and bought a box of 6. Because I know I could but, know I don’t need to, eat all 6 of the donuts, we took them up to the seminary and shared them with some of the people Travis works with. I can’t even begin to describe just how phenomenal they are. I even paired mine with a cold Cheerwine in a bottle. It DEFINITELY was the breakfast of champions.

From July 2010


Today, Sam and I basically had the entire day to ourselves. We met Travis for lunch but didn’t see him again until almost 7:30 due to his helping a coworker move into a campus apartment. Therefore, this afternoon after his nap I was looking for ways to entertain Sam. I remembered reading in my current edition of MomSense (a magazine for women who attend MOPS) about making homemade ice cream in ziploc bags. I had all the ingredients, so I thought we would give it a try. It was VERY easy to make!
Here is what you need:

From July 2010


* 1/2 cup whole milk
* 1 T sugar
* 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
* 6 T rock salt
* gallon ziploc bag filled halfway with ice
* sandwich size ziploc bag (I recommend a heavy duty/ freezer variety)

You combine in the small ziploc the milk, sugar, and vanilla. Next, pour the rock salt in the gallon bag with the ice. Then put the SEALED small bag inside the gallon bag and SHAKE SHAKE SHAKE for 5 minutes.

Sam was NOT a fan of the shaking. I don’t know if it hurt his ears or just scared him but he screamed until I put it in a thermal tote to reduce the noise. After 5 minutes of shaking, it will look like this…

From July 2010


CAREFULLY, open the gallon bag and get your little bag out. It will look something like this…

From July 2010


Dump it in a bowl…

From July 2010


and enjoy!

From July 2010


We each took only a couple of bites because ours tasted FUNKY. In consultation with my dad tonight, we determined that my rock salt leaked into my ice cream. We decided this because a little bit of milk made it into the big bag and our finished ice cream had a really weird salt-ish flavor to it. It is very hard to describe the flavor. This is why I am recommending that you use a heavy duty freezer bag for both the ice and the milk mixture. Anyway, I dumped it out and pulled out a little bitty store bought cup of ice cream to share with Sam. Once I get some smaller freezer bags I will try again because it was super easy and makes the perfect amount. If you try it, let me know how yours turns out!!

Tonight, during bath time I let Sam play with some watercolor paints. He had a blast painting the bathtub and then he learned he could change the color of his bath water by dipping the paint tray in his water- thereby ending the “painting” part of the fun. Here are a few pictures…

From July 2010


From July 2010


Now the painting has ended and the dipping has begun…

From July 2010


Nasty water…

From July 2010

Well, that is about all the fun we’ve had these first two days of July. I can’t believe it is July already! This year is flying. I will need to start thinking more seriously about Sam’s 2nd birthday party soon. WOW!!!

