Whew! I think I am going to get this post online on the 4th by the skin of my teeth! (Small aside…who has skin on their teeth?)

We thought today was going to be a low-key, hang around the house after church day and it was… until we checked our Pastor’s facebook status. HA!!! We had just finished treating Sam to Red Robin (his fav) and were on our way home when Travis checked his facebook on his phone. He read that our Pastor was headed to the Rolesville fireworks show. I.LOVE.FIREWORKS. We decided that since Travis didn’t have to work tomorrow, we could keep Sam up past his bedtime this one time. If he is grumpy tomorrow because of lack of sleep, then there will be two of us to deal with him instead of just me. YAY! 🙂

Well, we got to the fireworks location at about 8:15- one hour before the fireworks were to start. We located our Pastor and some other friends and hung out with them. They have older kids who were loving the inflatable obstacle course and slides that were there. Sam just hung out in his stroller and enjoyed being entertained by various kids calling him “Baby Sam”- too cute!

When it was time for the fireworks, we laid down our picnic blanket and got out Sam’s froggy chair. He didn’t sit in it long. Once the fireworks started, he mainly stood there and laughed and clapped. HE LOVED IT! Since we were out running around town and not planning on attending this show, I didn’t have my “good” camera with me. Therefore, please excuse the quality of these pictures. (I always feel like I need to apologize for my green camera’s pictures- small price to pay for the ability to take pictures underwater.) 🙂

Without further adieu…
Sam playing with one of those glow bracelets a lady from church gave him. Don’t worry mom, I was like white on rice making sure it never went in his mouth. (FYI- that is poison inside those things and it tastes awful when you bite into it and makes your mom freak out and call Poison Control while you cry uncontrollably in the backseat of a Plymouth LeBaron… not that I remember any of that- HA!)

From July 2010


We are some of those “horrible” parents who leash their child when out in public. This is Travis trying to attach it to Sam and his froggy chair.

From July 2010


I like this profile shot of Sam and Travis enjoying the fireworks. A couple of times Sam would smack his legs with the “boom” of the fireworks. It was cute!

From July 2010


Travis took a picture of Sam and I watching the fireworks as well.

From July 2010


HORRIBLE picture but just wanted to prove there really were fireworks since none were visible in the previous pictures.

From July 2010


I also made a short video showing Sam enjoying the fireworks show. Unfortunately, Viddler isn’t cooperating so I had to use YouTube. Grrr… I will get it uploaded to Viddler though but, I didn’t want to leave the video out of this post.

July 4th is my most favorite secular holiday. I love celebrating the freedoms that I have been blessed with by living in the United States. I know we have our problems but we are still the greatest country in the world! “God Bless America, Land That I Love!!!!”

Steph
(Man, what is it with technology tonight? I couldn’t get my signature to post either!)

