was delicious but a bit on the unhealthy side. Let me explain… I have a friend in TN, Alyson, who would make this AH-MAZING cornflake casserole for Sunday School Breakfast Fellowships, church fellowships, anytime we would eat at their house, etc. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! When we learned that we were going to be leaving Dandridge and moving back to New Orleans, getting that recipe was at the top of my to-do list! Since moving, I have tried to make it only a couple of times a year (remember, it isn’t super healthy so I have to ration myself or I would eat it every day.) Tonight, cornflake casserole was back on the menu, boys. While eating it, Travis and I were talking about ways to make it a bit healthier (secretly so I can cook it more often and not feel guilty about it) and have come up with a few thoughts. First let me share the original recipe and then our thoughts on making it better for us.

Ingredients:
32 oz. bag of frozen southern/country style hash browns (the cube shaped ones)
1 large onion (diced)- I use a bag of frozen diced onions bc I do NOT chop/slice/dice/etc. onions in my house
3 sticks of butter (this is where it gets unhealthy FAST)- tonight I only used 2 sticks of butter 🙂
2 cans of cream of chicken soup
16 oz of sour cream
3 cups of cheddar cheese
2 cups of crushed cornflakes cereal (thus, the name- cornflake casserole)
salt and pepper (I always forget these and it tastes fine without them)

Directions:
1. Thaw the hash browns in the microwave
2. Saute the onion in 2 sticks of butter (I used one and it was fine) until the onion is translucent.
3. Combine in a large bowl the hash browns, 1 cup of cheddar cheese, cream of chicken soups, sour cream, and onions (along with the butter- I assume.)
3. Pour into a greased 9×13 casserole dish
4. Pour remaining 2 cups of cheese on top
5. Spread the crushed cornflakes on top of the cheese
6. Pour remaining stick of melted butter over the top of the casserole
6. Cook uncovered in a 350 degree preheated oven for 45 minutes. (Again, I used my toaster oven and probably only needed to cook it for 35-40 minutes because our cornflakes ended up a very golden brown- they weren’t burnt though.)

Here is a picture of the casserole immediately out of the oven…

From August 2010

Here is a clump ready to be eaten (the reason I had so much on the plate was because it was the only thing we ate for supper- also not healthy but it was quick) 🙂

From August 2010

Okay, I realize I “could” change my sour cream to low-fat but I have been reading lately about how fats are actually good for you and the stuff to make something “low fat” is not. We don’t eat a lot of sour cream so I don’t feel guilty about buying full-fat versions. This is also the reason why I buy unsalted butter and not margarine. I am not really sure if there is low-sodium cream of chicken soup? If there is, and I ever see it, I will definitely buy that because I do try to watch our sodium intake. I am pretty sure the cheese was 2% but I know it wasn’t low sodium. Low sodium cheese is such a new thing to me that I don’t think about it when I am picking out my cheese. I can’t really change the hash browns, onions, or cornflakes- I have made it with like a Fiber One type cereal before but it tasted STRANGE. Therefore, the only thing I feel like I can modify to make this meal healthier is the butter content.

Three sticks is a lot of buttah! Tonight, I only used 2 sticks and I couldn’t tell the difference and it was still very buttery. Here are my thoughts on changing the butter- maybe saute the onions in only 1/2 stick of butter? Travis’ thought was to saute the onions in olive oil because you are just needing a fat source to saute the onions in. I really like his suggestion because it would DEFINITELY be the more healthy of the two options. We would still use the melted butter to pour over the top before cooking though- I can’t think of a way to escape that one.

Would either of these ideas work? Namely, would Travis’ idea work? I am not a good cook when it comes to veering from a recipe so I don’t know if this would work. I would like the input of more experienced cooks. Therefore, PLEASE tell me what you think. I LOVE this recipe and would love to cook it more than like 2 or 3 times a year but, can’t convince myself to do it because of the butter.

Thanks!

