We received our first order of fruits and veggies from The Produce Box today. I am impressed. Granted, they sent me the wrong box but we had some issues getting my order placed so I am just thankful that I got a box. HA! Here is what we got:

From August 2010


7 ears of corn, 1 pint of chambourcin grapes, 1 pint of muscadine grapes, 1 cucumber, 6 peaches, 2 BIG tomatoes, 1 butternut squash, and 1 gourd that I have no idea what it is.

In the above picture, you see a little hand quickly grabbing a peach. Apparently, in addition to being a brownie crumb thief, Sam is now a peach thief as well. He has already eaten an entire peach and we just got the box home 20 minutes ago. The funny thing is that, as far as I know, he has never eaten a fresh peach before. However, I had to quickly grab it out of his hand because he put it up to his mouth and was about to bite it like an apple! I had never seen anyone eat a peach like this until I worked at William Carey University in New Orleans and observed my friend, Joy, do it. I think that is a funny way to eat a peach but, I am not a fan of peach peel and therefore, cannot imagine doing that myself. 🙂

From August 2010

The Produce Box is a community supported agriculture (CSA) program. I’ve been looking for one for awhile because I want to up the amounts of fresh fruits and veggies we eat. However, I am not good at picking out fruits and veggies AND by the time they make it to the grocery store they are several days old thus causing what I do buy to go bad before we eat it. CSAs typically have OUTRAGEOUS fees to join (or at least in this area they do) and so they wouldn’t fit into our tight budget. You also have to pick up your produce between certain hours at a certain location. This typically coincided with an afternoon nap for Sam and I am not willing to sacrifice those. If you can’t pick up your order one week then you are just out of luck- there is no skipping weeks or getting your money back. The Produce Box is not a typical CSA. It costs $10 to “join” and that pays for the box your produce is delivered in each week. You can skip weeks if you need to and you aren’t charged for that week. The most important reason I fell in love with the Produce Box though is because THEY DELIVER! They don’t deliver out “in the country” where we live but the seminary is on one of their delivery routes so they have no problem dropping the box off in Travis’ office. WOO HOO!! Not only being affordable ($22 for what you see above), I don’t have to drag Sam to the grocery store and walk around in the produce section trying to buy a variety of fruits a veggies. N-I-C-E!!

Sam and I had a mommy-son Mexican lunch date today. Travis has adjunct faculty orientation today so he was busy during lunch. Since we went to WF to eat, I decided to drop by his office and grab my produce and bring it on home. Mainly, because I couldn’t wait until Travis brought it- I wanted to check it out and start contemplating what we were going to eat tonight for supper. I have some bacon that I got for free at Harris Teeter awhile back so I think we might have bacon-tomato sandwiches this Saturday for lunch. I might buy some lettuce but we aren’t big lettuce eaters so I doubt I will.

Right now, I am going to do some research on the unknown gourd I received. That way I can learn what it is and how to cook it. You can’t really see it in the picture above so I took a separate picture of it. Mainly, so that I could ask a facebook friend who seriously knows everything about food that I can imagine a person would ever need to know, Mary Ellen Ahrens, what it is. She has helped me out with some recipes for random stuff in the past and I am confident she won’t let me down this time either. HA!!

Here is my unknown gourd…

From August 2010

Here is one more picture of Sam devouring the peach. I think he is going to enjoy the wide variety of fruit that we will be having. Hopefully, I can keep him from stealing it though. HA!

From August 2010


