I utilized AllRecipe again to help me prepare another veggie that came in my Produce Box box. I had a couple of friends suggest that I just cut it in half and nuke microwave it but, I wanted to do something more “fancy.” Truth be told, I wanted to use my toaster oven. HA HA! Anyway, this recipe for sliced acorn squash was super easy to do and it tasted fine. I think I might not be a big fan of acorn squash but, I will elaborate more a little later.

First, I had to slice my acorn squash in half and scoop out the “innerds.” I would never have thought that it would look so much like a pumpkin. Cool!

From August 2010


Then you cut the squash into slices and lay them on your baking pan/stone. Also sprinkle some salt on them.

From August 2010


Next, you melt 2 tablespoons of butter and combine it with 1/3 cup of maple syrup. Pour this NOT HEALTHY concoction over the squash.

From August 2010


Cover with foil and place in a preheated oven for 40 minutes at 350 degrees.

From August 2010


Once they are done, take them out and serve them up. Travis wanted some of the “gravy” poured over them. I think that is highly optional- it was just melted maple syrup so I am sure it added to the sugar count exponentially. HA!

From August 2010


Then, you convince your toddler that he will like it- it looks unlike anything he has ever eaten but he is a big fan of veggies. FINALLY he decides to try a piece and he loves it. We then just sat back and watched him devour 3 slices! It wasn’t “bad” but I have texture issues and the texture of the squash just didn’t mesh with the flavor of pancake syrup that was in my mouth. It was also super sweet. I think I ate 3 slices as well. I really don’t think Travis ate 15 slices so apparently one of us lost count somewhere because there weren’t any leftovers. Would I make this again? Probably, but I don’t think I would ladle the “gravy” over it. However, the next time I get my hands on an acorn squash, I will probably try one of the microwave recipes I’ve been given.

