This afternoon, we hung out with some fun, new friends for a cookout and for Travis to play Risk. I think this is the third time we have done this and we thoroughly enjoy it every time. My part of the dinner was the dessert and a salad. I retried the cookie cake (cut the temp by 50 degrees and added 6 minutes to the cook time) and it came out super yummy. I also took a pasta salad because my brain was so frazzled with the cookie that I couldn’t think of anything else and that is what I had in my pantry. We had grilled hot dogs (one of my facebook friends called them “tube steaks” tonight and I had to ask Travis what he was talking about- HA) and bratwursts, some kind of phenomenal bean casserole, deviled eggs, hashbrown casserole, a great chip dip, and chocolate cake (in addition to my cookie.) It was G-R-E-A-T!!

Anyway, after dinner, the kiddos played and the moms hung out while the dad’s played Risk. Technoboy, aka Sam, dug my camera out of my purse so I decided to take the opportunity to take some pictures. Here are a few…
We played with a football and soccer ball for a little while…

From September 2010


From September 2010


Not quite sure what William is talking about here…

From September 2010


The kids also chased each other and the dog, Dixie. After a little while of this, we took a walk through the neighborhood. This is where flirty Sam took center stage. He was stuck like glue to the Gravely’s oldest child, Claire. They were cute.
Here they are “walking” Dixie.

From September 2010


From September 2010


Then they got tired of walking Dixie so they just held hands and walked together. WHAT?! My NOT YET TWO YEAR OLD held hands WITH AN ALMOST 6 YEAR OLD GIRL!! Yikes! What am I going to do with him?!

From September 2010


After our walk, we went back inside to play. The kiddos all crowded around the table to check out the RISK action. I know Sam was secretly plotting how to thwart the game by moving the little plastic pieces around. He is a mischievous, techie, flirt boy.

From September 2010


We gotta work on the “flirt” part- and the mischievous part. I can live with the techie part because Travis and I are both techie.
I am still in shock over the hand holding. I think I need to go to bed!
Steph

