We took Sam to his first fair this weekend. It was in Travis’ hometown of Ellenboro, NC. He had a lot of fun riding the various rides. We scoped everything out Friday night. Sam hung out on Travis’ shoulders because he was TIRED.

From September 2010


After Sam’s nap on Saturday we headed back up to the fair. This time we rode rides. We went during the hours where they sold the unlimited ride bracelets and so Sam and I each got a bracelet. Parents had to pay to ride along with their small child, too- BOO! Anyway, I ended up being the one to ride the rides. It was a lot of HOT fun!
We rode a little train 4 times. Sam really got into turning the steering wheel but I think the photographer stopped taking photos after the first ride. Oh well…

From September 2010


We then rode this VERY BUMPY caterpillar ride. It went around pretty fast in a circle- all while going, roughly, up and down. I think this was Sam’s least favorite ride. I had to keep my arm behind his head because every time we hit a bump it would make him bump his head on the metal.

From September 2010


From September 2010


I think it finally started making him feel a little sick. I must admit, I can ride rides with the best of them and this one started making me feel sick, too.

From September 2010


After the very bumpy caterpillar, we went flying through the air on a bumble bee. That was fun. Sam enjoyed it and would do the sign for “bird” sometimes when we were up in the air.

From September 2010


From September 2010


The other ride we rode was the carousel. Sam really enjoyed it. He rode a carousel when he was 11 months old so this was the only ride that was, technically, a repeat. I could definitely tell he enjoyed this one much more than the first one.

From September 2010

After the fair, we stopped by Travis’ uncle’s house to visit. Sam and Uncle Charles went exploring…

From September 2010


Then we all sat on the porch while Sam played on the stairs. This would be where he scratched his legs up.

From September 2010


From September 2010


From September 2010


The wind started blowing, so Sam did a wind dance.

From September 2010


On the way home today, he was playing with his laptop he got for his birthday from Travis’ parents and then just, all of a sudden, crashed!! It was too cute!!

From September 2010


He has had such a fun weekend! I am so glad we went for the visit. Sam also enjoyed the cows that Travis’ parents have and would see them and just “moo” at them. Of course, the cat and dogs were a hit as well. This morning, when the rooster would crow Sam would look at me and sign “more” and then look at the rooster and repeat the sign. I think the rooster knew sign language because he kept crowing which made Sam excited. Thankfully, this rooster is a late riser and everyone was already awake when he started!
To end this post, I want to share a video compilation we made of Sam riding his first fair rides. I hope you enjoy!!

Steph

