Tonight, SEBTS had a Connecting Point event entitled “Get Crafty” and I went. Connecting Point is a women’s group for students, student wives, staff wives, faculty wives- you get the point. Any woman affiliated with SEBTS is eligible to attend. This was my second one that I have ever attended. It was fun. Tonight, we learned how to do various crafts. We were able to go to choose two crafts from making a candle holder, decorating cookies, scrapbooking, flower arranging, yarn wreath making, and making these little fabric circles that some people hang on trees or you can sew them together to make a trivet-type item (in case you can’t tell, I don’t know what they were called.) I chose the candle holder and the yarn wreath.

The first one I went to was about how to make a yarn wreath. We didn’t actually make a wreath while we were there but we learned how to take a wreath form, wrap batting around it, wrap yarn tightly around it to cover the batting up, and then hot glue various decorations depending on the reason for the wreath. They were SO CUTE and sound SO CHEAP AND EASY! I am excited to try to make one sometime in the near future.

For my final “class”, I learned how to make a candle holder. Technically, we didn’t “make” a candle holder- we decoupaged tissue paper onto glass fish bowls, vases, etc. to make it more decorative. If you went the fish bowl route, you could put a candle in it and have a candle holder. I, however, went the itty bitty vase route. I thought that would be fun to put in my kitchen and put some random little flowers/weeds in it from time to time. When I got home, I took a picture of it.

From October 2010


Please ignore the NKOTB picture sticker of Donnie Wahlberg on my mirror. I received our bedroom suite the summer before 6th grade and I had a huge crush on Donnie Wahlberg at the time. What was I thinking?! I don’t know but I do know that I have the greatest dad- he went with me to a New Kids on the Block concert when they came to Furman one year. HA HA!! Thanks, Dad!!

Once we finished learning our new crafts, we had a time of worship and a short devotion. Afterwards, they drew for door prizes. Lo and behold, I won a door prize. I think that is pretty funny. Even funnier is that I won a decorative candle to be placed on a “trivet” of those little round cloth things that I don’t know the name of. I think it is really cute and I will definitely be using it at Christmas to add something festive to our dining table. Here is a picture of it…

From October 2010

That’s all I have for tonight. I hope you all are having a great start of the week. Until next time…
Steph

