This past Saturday, we had a surprise party for my grandpa. He turned 80 in October but, due to my parents living far away, we couldn’t do the party until this past weekend. I think it helped even more with the surprise. The entire side of my mom’s family was there! That may sound like a lot of people but it was only 23 people. Travis had a cousin count 70 family members recently at a funeral, so he comes from BIG families. Anyway, it was a fun day.
Some family friends also came over for the celebration. 5 minutes ago, I could’ve told you his name but now I have drawn a blank. Anyway, the father of this family was the music minister at my grandparents’ church, music prof at North Greenville University (back when it was still a college), and sung at my mom and aunts weddings. Here they are talking with Papa.

From November 2010


Some more family (and my awesome hubby) hanging out…

From November 2010


Of course, we had cake.

From November 2010


From November 2010


From November 2010


Sam definitely enjoyed his cake!

From November 2010


As a family, we gave one “family gift” to Papa. We made a donation to Samaritan’s Purse in honor of him. I wish I could remember the exact amounts but basically we stocked a pond with a bunch of fish, gave a family a “dairy animal” (I am assuming a cow but the possibilities of goats and cats were also discussed- ha!), and gave some families chickens. Papa really appreciated it since he and my grandma are always seeking ways to bless others with what God has blessed them with. I think this was a great birthday present.

From November 2010


Afterwards, all the great grandkids went outside to play with some cool rubber band airplanes. Sam enjoyed exploring the woods with my aunt.

From November 2010


Sam and Aunt Jacky, flying an airplane.

From November 2010


Meanwhile, the guys were inside trying to land a plane on the ceiling fan.

From November 2010


We then went outside for a big family picture. We did one of these 4 years ago and then the next Christmas, we found out our family was growing (Kyl) and then a month later WE found out we were pregnant with Sam. Therefore, an updated picture was a necessity.

From November 2010


Grandmama and Papa with their great-grandchildren.

From November 2010


G & P with their grandchildren (and spouses.)

From November 2010


Sam with his grand and great-grandparents.

From November 2010


G & P with their daughters (and spouses.)

From November 2010


G & P with just their daughters.

From November 2010


An airplane flew over while we were outside goofing off. I think it is called an “ultralite” (the homemade planes like what John Denver crashed in.)

From November 2010


Sam really liked the airplane.

Before we left the next morning, I managed to snap this picture of Sam with Papa. I really like this picture.

From November 2010


and this one…

From November 2010


Happy Birthday, Papa! We love you!
Steph

