This morning after we returned from running errands, a hawk landed on the power line in my parents’ front yard. I don’t know what the deal is with the hawks but apparently they are everywhere. That or we are being followed- scary! Anyway, I snuck in the house to grab my camera and just as I was coming out, he was preparing to fly away. It looks like he is walking on the power line.

From November 2010


Here is a blurry bird shot of the hawk flying over the van- just to prove we were at my parent’s house.

From November 2010


After my dad got off work, he and I headed to Mobile, AL to watch my alma mater, the University of South Alabama, take on the U. of Arkansas- Monticello in their last game of the season. This is the second year that USA (AKA “South”) has had a team. The really awesome thing is that they are undefeated- for two years running!! They went 7-0 their first season and this year they are 10-0 for a combined record of… (get your calculators…) 17-0!! AWESOME! Next year, they start playing some “big” schools so it should get even more exciting. In fact, they are going up to Raleigh to play NC State. Guess who will be at that game? ME!! I can hardly wait. What follows is a photo story of the game. (Remember, you can always click on any of the pictures to go to the online album- I always post a lot more pictures there than I do on the blog.)

From November 2010


This is Southpaw, the USA Jaguar.

From November 2010


This isn’t a super picture but the South player (in red) that is about to run out of the end zone is unable to slow himself down fast enough and subsequently flipped over the fence. It was kinda of neat to watch. Too bad I didn’t get a photo.

From November 2010


They now have a marching band! It was really large and very good!

From November 2010


This was a picture of South’s first TD. Unfortunately, the autofocus on my camera wasn’t fast enough. I wish you could see how high the player jumped to catch the ball. It was an impressive catch.

From November 2010


The marching band did the obligatory halftime performance. They played a song I can’t remember, a Lady Gaga song, “Love Shack” and the USA Alma Mater. I enjoyed it.

From November 2010


From November 2010


This is something I have decided was funny yet frustrating. Look at the South player in the lower left corner. You will notice he is approximately on the 1 yard line and running in for a TD. I was shoot in my “paparazzi” mode (aka burst) and so this was the next quick picture that I took…

From November 2010


Yes, that would be the green jacket of the man in front of me. I was so frustrated because I was set up to have a great picture of a touchdown. Oh well…
We left when there was around 5 minutes left in the game. This was the score…

From November 2010


I realize the time says 9:08 (or something close) but the score didn’t change in those 4 minutes so I didn’t feel the need for an additional photo. Apparently, the other team did score one more time to make the final score 31-10. Way to go, South Alabama!!! I am so excited they won and they are STILL undefeated. I am almost just as excited about my Jimmy Buffett- inspired t-shirt I bought to wear. I love it!! I also managed to score Sam a little USA t-shirt and can’t wait for him to wear his little shirt either.

Good night!
Steph

