This week, Sam and I have been helping my mom collect shoeboxes for Operation Christmas Child.

From November 2010


It is part of Franklin Graham’s organization, Samaritan’s Purse, and they collect shoeboxes filled with goodies to send to kids in countries around the world. This allows those children to have a Christmas present when they otherwise wouldn’t have one. It is a really awesome program.

From November 2010

Because we have already spent 40 hours up at my parent’s church this week, there hasn’t been much time for blog-worthy activities. However, yesterday was a horse of a different color. There was a potluck lunch at my parents’ church and, since we were there, we got to partake. Sam had a blast- as usual. He LOVES to entertain and meet new people. The coolest thing at the lunch was one of the desserts one of the ladies made. Check these turkeys out…

From November 2010


Aren’t they adorable? Here is a closer look…

From November 2010


Once Sam ate lunch, I let him have a turkey for his dessert. I think he enjoyed it.

From November 2010


From November 2010


From November 2010


From November 2010


That last picture cracks me up. He was stuffed! He then settled down for a 3 hour nap! WOO HOO!!

From November 2010

After my dad got off work, he joined us at the church. Sam had to show him his new “friend” that he has met this week.

From November 2010


It is a squirrel. You can see him on the electrical pole. I am assuming this pole went through Katrina since it is leaning so much.

From November 2010


Yes, the squirrel is fake but Sam doesn’t care. He goes out and waves and tells it hello SEVERAL times a day.

Then they came in and helped moved the heavy boxes filled with shoeboxes. Sam really enjoys this part of the day.

From November 2010


From November 2010

Today, I received my new pair of glasses in the mail. I had a free eye exam last week and then had a coupon for www.coastalcontacts.com that enabled me to order a new pair of glasses for only $7.16! I LOVE them!

From November 2010


They even had “clip on” sunglasses that actually attach via magnets. WOO HOO! I don’t have to keep up with 2 pairs of glasses anymore. Such a relief and such a budget friendly way to get some new frames.

From November 2010

Tomorrow, Travis and Peeper arrive. Travis has been in Cochrane, Alberta, Canada this past week doing an ATS evaluation of the Canadian Baptist Theological Seminary. He has has been around quite a bit of snow. Hopefully, I can pull the pictures off his camera and have him write a blog post about it. We shall see…

Steph

