We have decorated for Christmas! I am so excited! I LOVE Christmas decorations. Therefore, please allow me to share with you our decorations. I still have others that I am just not planning on using. I think they will wait until Sam is a bit older so I don’t have to worry about them getting messed up or Sam getting hurt.

 

We put our tree up last night and Sam got to put the tree topper on.

From December 2010

Then after his nap today, Sam helped put the beads on the tree. We use Mardi Gras beads on our tree for multiple reasons- Travis and I met in New Orleans, I got pregnant with Sam in New Orleans (thus why he was called Boudreaux for a long time,) and we have always had a large stash of beads and I like not using garland/tinsel/icicles, etc.

From December 2010


As you can tell from the fully decorated tree picture below, there are A LOT of beads on the lower part of the tree. HA!

From December 2010


Then, while I started supper, Sam sat in one of his chairs and watched the Christmas Praise Baby DVD.

From December 2010


From December 2010


After supper, the ornaments were hung.

From December 2010


We collect ornaments whenever we go places and so we have new ornaments every year. We try to get pewter ornaments if at all possible so we don’t have to worry about them breaking. The OCD-side of me wants to type up a document with the stories of where all the ornaments came from so that we will never forget. However, I have managed to restrain that side of me and not done it yet. I did take pictures of all of our new ornaments this year and so I will share a few with you.
This is, by far, my favorite ornament picture. This is the front of the ornament from Notre Dame Basilica from when we went to Montreal this summer. The back of the ornament is a picture of the cathedral but I didn’t think about taking a picture of it at the time.

From December 2010


This is an ornament that I picked up while in Mississippi for Thanksgiving. This is the boarding house in Bay St. Louis from the movie This Property is Condemned with Robert Redford in it. It has been re-opened as a theater and these ornaments are a fund raiser for them.

From December 2010


This summer, we went to a reunion for a group of people who received scholarships through the McNair Foundation. The McNairs are from Rutherford county, NC and Robert McNair graduated from the same high school as Travis. He went on to make tons of money and eventually became the owner of the Houston Texans. He and and his wife have created a foundation to award money to eligible students from the 2 high schools where Travis grew up. When Travis was in school, he received this award. At the reunion this summer, each recipient was given an ornament.

From December 2010


Sam and I received this ornament while visiting my parents for Thanksgiving. Apparently, Samaritan’s Purse volunteers receive an ornament as a thanks for helping out. Since we helped my mom out for 40+ hours while down there, we got an ornament.

From December 2010


The last ornament I will share is one that I received as a bridesmaid gift for being in my seminary roomie, Brooke’s, wedding. It is really pretty, I like it, and it is at the top so Sam can’t break it. 🙂

From December 2010

I also decorated our kitchen. I have a coastal Christmas theme going and I love it!

From December 2010


From December 2010


From December 2010


From December 2010

I also changed out my “curtains” in the window above our sink. I have napkins clipped to a curtain rod and that is what I use as my version of cafe curtains. I really like them and they are easy to change with seasons, holidays, occasions, etc.

From December 2010


Sorry, but I didn’t feel like ironing them.

Travis hung our stockings. My stocking holders are ornament holders and so since Travis was responsible for hanging the ornaments, he got to pick whatever ornament he wanted to go in each holder.

From December 2010


Peeper has a dog bone frame ornament and Sam has the ornament we picked up from the NC Aquarium this summer.

From December 2010


I have a Audobon Zoo, in New Orleans, ornament and Travis has the Jonesborough, TN County Courthouse ornament.

From December 2010

Our nativity is up as well. This isn’t a biggie since I leave it up year round. I love my Willow Tree nativity. It is simple and beautiful.

From December 2010


I even got cheesy and hung one of Peeper’s old stockings from the stair banister. Up until the summer after Sam was born, he (Peeper) was the only one we had a stocking. HA HA!

From December 2010

On our dining table, I have our Jesse Tree that we are using to countdown to Christmas. This is a twist on the traditional advent calendar in that each day there is a different ornament to hang on the tree that represents a Bible passage showing how Jesus is descended from the line of Jesse, thus fulfilling the prophecy in Isaiah 11:1, “There shall come forth a shoot from the stump of Jesse, and a branch shall grow out of his roots.” Jesus is that “shoot”. We only have 3 ornaments on it so far and I will post a picture when we finish it. I really like this idea. We read the Bible passage that coincides with that ornament each night before dinner. I know this will be great when Sam gets older so he learns the true meaning behind Christmas. Here is what our tree looks like right now.

From December 2010

I have a wreath on my front door but I need to get a picture of it in the daylight. We also have a yard soldier that my dad made that we will be putting up this year. Once we get that up, I will post a picture of it. That will be the extent of our outside Christmas decorations for this year.

I hope you have enjoyed checking out our decorations!
Steph

