From December 2010


Our last family hoorah for 2010 was to go to the NC State Museum of Natural Science. It is in downtown Raleigh and is FREE so I anticipate tons of future trips. Sam seemed to enjoy it although I think he is still a bit young to just walk around and look at things. A few things caught his eye though- deer, opossums (loved them!), snakes, fish, and some bugs. The thing that caught my eye were all the dinosaurs! I LOVE dinosaurs and it seemed like every time I turned around I found a new one. At one time, I wanted to be a paleontologist and even had a THICK dinosaur dictionary that I actually read. I am such a nerd!! Anyway, dinosaurs fascinate me. The thing that caught Travis’ eye was that the science museum is right across from the history museum and it is also FREE. They currently have an exhibit by a master cabinetmaker and so he wants to go. However, he told me he couldn’t just “drop in” because it would take him all day to read about the pirates, the cabinet maker, and something else that he said would be in there (maybe, indians?) I assume we will be going back to that museum in the future as well.

So I don’t bore you to death with the dinosaur pictures, I will post those first. Then, I will be on to the “cute” ones. 🙂

From December 2010


From December 2010


From December 2010


From December 2010


Ok, enough dinosaur pictures- if you want to see more, click on any of the above pictures and it will take you to my December album and there are more in there for you to look at.

Now, for the “cute” pictures…
Ahh… a cute picture w/ a dinosaur!!

From December 2010


Leave it to Sam to find earphones…

From December 2010


and then proceed to use them.

From December 2010


However, I think he thinks they work better like this…

From December 2010


We went to a “Meet the Animals” class today. It was on snakes! That is one of the few animals that Sam actually says the sound of- he still mostly signs his animal sounds. HA HA!

From December 2010


There were 4 live snakes shown…
This black rat snake kept trying to hide by climbing in the lady’s pocket. She later held him up so that he stretched out so we could see how long he is- over 5 feet!! He is also over 5 years old.

From December 2010


A red rat snake… (she said it was also called something else but I don’t remember what it was)

From December 2010


I THINK this was a king snake- it is the snake that eats other snakes, including copperheads!

From December 2010


I don’t remember this little guy’s name either. I just know that he mimicks other snakes when he gets scared- he can flair his sides like a cobra, he shakes his tail in leaves to sound like a rattlesnake, and he flips himself over to appear dead.

From December 2010


She walked around and let anyone who wanted to pet the snakes. Sam was in heaven! He petted all of them and would still be petting them if we had let him.

From December 2010


I also got a video of Sam petting the snake.

After the snake encounter we roamed some more before eating at the cafe that was on site. Sam found a deer…

From December 2010


Checked out some bugs…

From December 2010


From December 2010


YUCK!!!

From December 2010


Crawled around like a dinosaur…

From December 2010


Rode the escalator… A LOT! He loves riding those!

From December 2010


Listened to the ocean in a conch shell.

From December 2010


Measured to see how many snakes he is tall…

From December 2010


He squealed in delight every time he saw these little guys…

From December 2010


We had a blast and it wore him out. We hadn’t been gone even 5 minutes and he was sacked out in his car seat. We will definitely be going back- you can’t beat free educational activities for kiddos!!
Steph

