I have always wanted to try to make a King Cake. (If you want to know what a King Cake is, click on the different colored words in the previous sentence.) However, I’ve heard they are somewhat difficult to make because the bread gets dry, or something just doesn’t taste quite right. Well, after today, I doubt I will buy a store made one again- mine was DELICIOUS!!!

I got the recipe from AllRecipes.com and you can find it here. It utilized my bread machine so I thought this would be a fairly simple one to try. I put everything needed to make the dough in my bread machine and let it do its thing.

After the dough was made, I rolled it out flat on the counter and then put a cinnamon sugar mixture and some strawberry cream cheese all over it. The recipe didn’t call for cream cheese but Travis and I like fillings other than just cinnamon sugar in our King Cakes and therefore, that is why I put it in there. Then I rolled it up and formed a ring. I don’t think I rolled it out as big as the recipe intended for me to because my ring expanded while baking and met itself in the middle. However, for smaller king cakes this is not an uncommon thing. This is what it looked like after it baked…

From January 2011


While it had been baking, I made the glaze to go on top. After it cooled slightly, I poured that over my King Cake and then sprinkled Mardi Gras colored sugar sprinkles on top of that.

From January 2011


I then had to be more patient than I think I ever have been in my life because I wanted to wait until Travis got home before cutting into it and trying it. I managed to wait and so we all split one piece before we went to eat supper.

From January 2011


It was moist and amazing. It tasted just like store bought ones- only fresher!! If any of my friends want to make one, I HIGHLY recommend the recipe I linked to above. I don’t know how it would turn out if the cream cheese weren’t added but I am assuming it would still be good- just a bit drier.

Our little Boudreaux LOVED it!!

From January 2011

I will be making another one closer to my birthday and it will be my birthday cake. I then think I might make one and decorate it for Valentine’s Day for a V-Day brunch we will be attending. Then I think it will be awhile before I make another- they are super delish but super rich and it is probably a good thing that King Cake “season” is only for a few weeks each year. What is ridiculous is now knowing how easy AND CHEAP it was to make and knowing how expensive they can be down in NOLA- mail order ones easily run $40!!! Wow! Maybe I should start taking orders. Hee Hee!! 🙂

Steph

