The title of this post is what we heard Sam say all afternoon. We had gone to Lowe’s and Home Depot to pick up a few items so that we could work in our yard. We knew Sam probably wouldn’t take a nap since he slept so late so we told him he could help Travis. Thus, him constantly saying, “Hep my Yaddy” (Sam for Help my Daddy.) Before I got started trimming bushes, I took a few pictures of the two buddies.
First, they raked the dirt to fluff it up a bit…

From March 2011


Then they threw seed…

From March 2011


After Travis showed Sam what to do with the seed, Sam started throwing. However, his first handful was let go a little early and hit Travis in the face- I love T’s expression in this pic!! HA!

From March 2011


Eventually, Sam figured it out…

From March 2011

Meanwhile, I trimmed the bushes going down the side of the house. Here is what they looked like before I started…

From March 2011


I finished the first three before Travis came over to replace me so I could start sweeping stuff up, get rid of it, and then get Sam inside for a diaper change. Here are the bushes now…

From March 2011

Travis trimmed the other bushes as well. Here are the before shots…

From March 2011


From March 2011


From March 2011


Here are the “after” pics. Please note that we aren’t completely finished- I still have some stuff to pull up, mulch to put down, and border stones to place in front of the porch. We are working on this a little bit at a time since one of us has to keep up with Sam.

From March 2011


I don’t know what kind of bush these are but I, personally, think they are hideous. There are some at the seminary that have grown to be about 8 feet tall so we are intentionally keeping the tops cut out of them since they are right up against our house. I am thinking I might try re-shaping them to be more of a tree shape to see if that would help. I think they are ugly but apparently BIG spiders love them. Gross!

From March 2011


From March 2011


From March 2011

This afternoon, Sam also “had” to watch “Meme Tup” (Sam for Wonder Pets- a TV show we stream via Netflix that comes on Nick, Jr.) It mesmerizes him. The main characters are Lenny (Guinea Pig,) Tuck (Turtle,) and Ming Ming (Duckling) and they get a phone call via a tin can phone from an animal that needs “saving” and so each episode is dedicated to saving that specific animal. He was watching them save a herd of sheep in the pictures below. We love the Wonder Pets, too. Each episode is focused on teamwork and problem solving and they sing cute “stick in your head”-type songs as well as have little silly sayings.

From March 2011


This is Sam’s favorite character- Ming Ming, the duck. However, when he asks to watch it, he calls it Meme (Ming Ming) Tup (Tuck). He won’t say Lenny, yet.

From March 2011


It has been a busy productive day and I am also super-excited that is 9pm and Sam is asleep!! WOO HOO!! The time change has really thrown off his bedtime so hopefully, we are getting back to where we should be- the fact that he didn’t nap today has also helped. 🙂
Steph

