My parents are up visiting this week. This morning, my dad helped me with my one “project” that I had decided we would try to accomplish this week- moving border stones from our backyard to the front for the front flowerbed. We FINALLY got rid of the hideous (my opinion that is apparently not shared by many) rocks that the previous owners had used. This is what it looked like shortly after we bought the house…

From House Tour


I’ve never liked how the nice border stones are around the right flowerbed and then the random stones are around the left flowerbed. Therefore, when Travis’ parents were here last month, we removed the stones from the front flowerbed and made it look like this…

From March 2011


From March 2011


Today, we moved the border stones that were formed little flowerbeds around our storage building in the back. Now the front flower bed looks like this…

From April 2011


We used all the stones we had and so were only short 14 stones. We can easily get those once Travis gets paid. WOO HOO! It looks so much better!!

Don’t you think that this…

From April 2011


looks MUCH better than this…?

From House Tour

Now, I just need to decide on ground cover for my beds. Here are my requirements- MINIMAL maintenance and highly affordable. I am thinking cedar mulch (to keep bugs at bay) in the front flowerbed at the bedrooms and down the side of the house (aka where the red-topped stones are.) There are some rocks that are holding down the drain pipe and so those need to remain. I am thinking of doing the mulch to the rocks (so just across the front of the porch) and then doing phlox in the large around around my corkscrew willow and the side of the porch. The former owners had some wildflowers planted here and there is still that thick plastic under a THICK layer of dirt so I am hoping the phlox would work.

Any other suggestions? I might do the mulch throughout the front flowerbed but that would increase the price tremendously and I don’t want to do that.

Steph

