My parents came up last week for a visit. It was a great visit but felt like a whirlwind. Halfway through the week, we headed to SC to visit my grandparents and let them be able to spend time with Sam. My other aunts and cousins visited in spurts so it was also nice to see them. Since none of us live really close to each other, I feel like we often only see them at Christmas or major events- like 80th birthday parties. We are able to see my NC relatives every now and then as we drive back and forth to Travis’ parents so that is nice as well. Anyway… back to the visit…

My dad is a fan of little old-timey hamburger joints. There is one in downtown Wake Forest that he really likes. While they were here, we met Travis at Shorty’s for lunch. While still a very cheap lunch locale, I definitely wish they still used the prices advertised in the background…

From April 2011

After MOPS on Wednesday, we headed to the NC State Farmer’s Market restaurant. We like to go there with the grandparents since it gives us a really good reason to drive across Raleigh for a meal. HA! After we ate, Sam played with the animals for a bit. He really enjoys being a pig wrangler…

From April 2011


Apparently, Sam also thought that Spider-Man needed a hug…

From April 2011


We also walked around the flea market a bit to see what they had. I think I have definitely decided on Phlox for my front flower bed. It makes me smile whenever I see it- cheesy, I know… Below is a picture of the white variety, which I think is the color I want to go with.

From April 2011


The next day we headed to SC. The first night, while waiting on everyone else to come out of the house so we could get “ice me”, my dad chased Sam around the house. Several. Times.

From April 2011


I think Sam ate ice cream every night my parents were here. At least this is proof that I got my sweet tooth honestly. HA HA!

From April 2011


The next day, my aunt and her 3 grandkids came to visit. They enjoyed playing inside together…

From April 2011


but, they enjoyed being outside more…

From April 2011


While Sam took a nap, the “big kids” hunted for Easter eggs. Once Sam woke up, they helped him find some too. He quickly remembered what he was supposed to do and was on those eggs like white on rice.

From April 2011


From April 2011


From April 2011


From April 2011


After the egg hunt and sidewalk chalk, we went to the local park. Sam has always stayed on the toddler side but this time he mainly stayed on the big kid side with his cousins.

Me with the great-grandkids on the way to the park…

From April 2011


Sam really enjoyed hanging from the rings and was actually tall enough to grab them and swing all by himself!!

From April 2011


From April 2011


My little hot-natured child took a LONG water break.

From April 2011


Grandmama and Papa with all the great-grandkids.

From April 2011


The next day, my grandparents’ church had an auction to raise money for local mission projects. Here is just a sampling of some of the stuff for sale…

From April 2011


Sam entertained himself with his iPod for a little while. He mainly preferred running across the gym trying to escape the building.

From April 2011


For $5, I got Sam an old school desk. I plan on repainting it and using it when he gets older. I really like these school desks and REALLY like how space saving they are!

From April 2011


That night, we ate at Gus’ House of Pizza. My cousin Kyle, had “won” 3 gift certificates for Gus’ at the auction. We all shared 1 large ham and cheese pizza, 1 large “House special” (aka fully loaded) pizza, and a large stromboli. Here is the House special pizza- it was simply amazing!!

From April 2011


While waiting on food, Uncle David decided Sam needed to learn a new trick. Watch this video to see what I am talking about…

After dinner we went back to my grandparents and then my aunt, uncle, and cousin headed on back to NC. Shortly after they left, we had a bad storm and it hailed for a little bit. This was Sam’s first hailstorm and he did great- he didn’t cry or get scared. I even ran outside and brought a piece back in for him to hold. However, I think it was a bit too cold for him because he didn’t hold it for too long.

From April 2011


Sunday morning brought about my parents return trip to MS. Sam decided he was going to help drive them there…

From April 2011


After we went to church and ate lunch with my grandparents, Sam and I headed back to NC. It is a fairly boring and uneventful drive. The highlight of the trip is always at the half-way point. We drive past the Rockingham Raceway. It is quite large but doesn’t appear to be as big as “The Track Too Tough To Tame” (aka Darlington- near where I grew up.)

From April 2011


From April 2011


When we got home and had unpacked, I hung up my new laundry curtains. I really like them and REALLY like the fact that they don’t get in the way while I do laundry and keep everything hidden when I am not doing laundry. It is actually a table cloth that I got at Target for $10 and had my grandma cut and sew it into two curtains. She had it done in no time- it would’ve taken me FOREVER to have done this! Thanks, Grandmama!!

From April 2011

Whew!! We had a crazy busy week last week. Now we are just chilling out at home with not much on the docket to do until Friday- Sam has an Easter egg hunt up at the school and Travis teaches his class this weekend.

🙂
Steph

