Our women’s mission group at church, Embrace, is meeting this Thursday. Since it is the month of Easter, we are going to be learning about Annie Armstrong as part of our meeting. When I worked at GA camp in SC for 4 years in college, I learned that Annie made cookies for various kids she came into contact with. Therefore, I googled and found the recipe for the cookies that she made and made 1/2 of a batch to share at our meeting Thursday. If you would like to make some, gather the following ingredients…
8-9 cups of all purpose flour
1/2 pound butter
1/2 pound lard
1 pint molasses
1/2 pound light brown sugar
1 heaping tablespoon ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground cloves

The recipe stated to stir with a spoon as long as you could and then use your hands. I cheated and used my stand mixer.

From April 2011


The dough ended up looking like this…

From April 2011


Then you roll it out and cut out cookies. We don’t really have an area large enough to roll the entire dough out so we did it in stages. Thankfully, Travis stepped in to help because my allergies have been going NUTS today and I didn’t want to risk sneezing into the cookies- HA HA!! I had this creative idea to have the cookies spell “ANNIE” and try out my new cookie cutters my mom found. However, the dough was too thin and so the letters were so badly shaped that I quickly ditched that idea. Therefore, we used a pizza cutter to make square cookies.

From April 2011


You then bake them in the oven at 375 for 7-10 minutes. When they come out, they will look like this…

From April 2011


The original recipe that I posted above supposedly makes 100-150 cookies. I only made 1/2 of that recipe and have PLENTY of cookies for Thursday night- even after Sam ate at least 4 of them!!

If you like Moravian cookies, you should give this recipe a try. Supposedly that is what they taste like. If you like molasses, you should give this recipe a try. It definitely tastes like that.

In case you want to learn more about Annie Armstrong, you can go here. To find the actual recipe I used, go here.

Now I can’t wait for Christmas- Lottie Moon made cookies too!! Hint Hint… 🙂

🙂
Steph