Chicago-style deep dish pizza

Leave a comment

I have become quite addicted to reading Cooks Illustrated magazines. However, they are quite expensive (~$6-7 per issue, I think) and so I do not own very many individual issues. But… my uber-amazing husband bought me the 2010 Annual for my birthday this year. They ran a special where if you buy one at a discounted rate (I think it was around $25,) you also got the 2009 Annual!! Two years worth of the magazines all bound together so I don’t lose them for about the price of me buying 4 magazines! GREAT DEAL!! I was so excited! I have been reading them and learning some random cooking facts and picking out recipes to try.

Travis has been wanting me to make the Chicago style deep dish recipe (Jan/Feb ’10, pp. 14-15) for quite awhile. I actually found this one when I got the “Best of 2010” magazine in January. Anyway, I have been putting it off because I couldn’t make the dough in my bread machine. Silly reason, I know but, it is hard for me to find 3 hours of time that I can work in the kitchen sans Sam.

Next Saturday is Travis’ birthday. I originally decided that I would make it for his birthday dinner. However, when I was looking at my calendar I realized that we would actually be at a wedding that afternoon/evening. Therefore, I would need to do it today while Travis dealt with Sam.

It was VERY time intensive. However, it wasn’t too labor intensive. I mixed the dough and then let it rise for 45 minutes. Then I rolled it out, spread some butter on it, made 2 dough balls from the big batch of dough, let each of those rise for another 45 minutes, then “dressed” the pizzas and baked for 25 minutes. During the second rising session, homemade pizza sauce was made (it is also on pp. 14-15.)

This was an AMAZING pizza! Since it made 2 9-inch pizzas, we have lunch, or supper, for tomorrow already made. Yahoo for an easy Sunday!!

Now as your reward for reading all of this, here is what the finished product looked like. Please wipe the drool off of your chin. Tee hee!

From Food

Happy (early) Birthday, Travis!!!!

ily
Steph 🙂

Project 365- Week 17

Leave a comment

4-23-11 We went driving around a bit. That little yellow house on the hill will be mine one day- I just need to inform the current owners.

From Project 365 (2011)


4-24-11 (1) HE IS RISEN!!!

From Project 365 (2011)


4-24-11 (2) 8 years, 1 month, and 2 days ago we were standing here starting our lives as husband and wife. Now we are celebrating Christ’s resurrection with our son!

From Project 365 (2011)


4-25-11 Peeper spent 6 nights at the kennel while we were traveling and desperately needed a bath when he got back home.

From Project 365 (2011)


4-26-11 It was Kid’s Night at Moe’s and Sam got his picture taken with Wool E Bull, the Durham Bulls mascot.

From Project 365 (2011)


4-27-11 Sam can climb the jump house “ladder” all by himself!! Go, Sam!

From Project 365 (2011)


4-28-11 Sam FINALLY figured out how to get into the car in the CFA playground. He never realized he could veer off the path to the slide. HA HA!

From Project 365 (2011)


4-29-11 (1) The First Kiss of the new Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, Prince William and (newly) Princess Catherine.

From Project 365 (2011)


4-29-11 (2) We tried to be “extras” for a new movie being filmed in WF, Destiny Road, however after being there 2 hours and nothing happened, we left (it was almost 9pm.)

From Project 365 (2011)

Steph 🙂