I love Silers Bald.

They were a Christian band composed of University of South Carolina students when I was in college. They have since disbanded but, Laura Story is still recording and one of her latest songs, Blessings (link will take you to the YouTube video of her song) is quite popular right now. (She also wrote the words to “Indescribable” that Chris Tomlin sings.) Not sure about Jason Jacobs and the other members though. Yes, I know their names… plus, it didn’t hurt that Jason worked at the music store in Columbia where my cello came from, sold me my guitar, AND hung out A LOT with my best friend from high school, Lauren. Anyway, seriously, I have every album they ever came out with and they are all on my iPod and they have their own playlist (and are on other playlists as well.) I love Silers Bald.

Their songs, even the goofy ones (Playin’ in the Creek), speak to me at various times in my life. However, these are the two that are currently doing a lot of talking (aka playing) from my iPod.

The first one is entitled, Grace. I can’t carry a tune in a bucket but I belt this song every time it comes on. I was going to post the lyrics but I found a YouTube video that plays the song and displays the lyrics at the same time. By the way, Laura Story does the vocals on this one. Beautiful. Please, listen…

The other song is entitled, Home, and it apparently was never a huge hit since I can’t find the lyrics for it online ANYWHERE! Ugh!! Therefore, I am going to try my best to type them as I listen to the song… forgive me if I miss a few words- the chorus is my favorite part so I know those words are correct. 🙂

I wander through this world that rejects and yet tempts me to compromise what I believe
These stain glass windows house a body of believers that I come to now for comfort and love
Strong opinions have no barriers to walls built of pride
But we’re on the same side

Ooooooohhhhh

This discontentment deep inside me just grows stronger as my heart begins to break
And though I long to run the race my God has set before me I don’t know how much more I can take
I know this place is for a reason but I desire enough of peace
Some will find a way

You whisper to me and my fears subside
My heart is filled with peace
As I gently close my eyes
and I think of Home…

The place where my father’s prepared for me
Where I’m never alone
A place where the angels welcome me
and I can stand in the presence of the Savior I long to see
and when this world’s too much for me, I’ll think of home

And when your work in me is through, I’ll spend each moment serving you
and here inside me I will still pray that you’ll come today
Please come today
and I’ll think of home

The place where my father’s prepared for me
Where I’m never alone
A place where the angels welcome me
and I can stand in the presence of the Savior I long to see
and when this world’s too much for me, I’ll think of home

The place where my father’s prepared for me
Where I’m never alone
A place where the angels welcome me
and I can stand in the presence of the Savior I long to see
and when this world’s too much for me, I’ll think of home

and when this world’s too much for me
I’ll think of every time that you were right there by my side
by my side
and I’ll think of home

By the way, Laura Story sings that song as well. 🙂

Anyway, driving home from my ladies book club-thing at church, I felt that I needed to share this songs with my b log readers. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do. I am really bummed that I couldn’t find the music to “Home” online- it is a beautiful song. Maybe it is available in iTunes- if you are interested, you should check it.

Steph 🙂

