From May 2011


Tonight, our church had its awards night for our AWANA program. For those unfamiliar with AWANAs it is a children’s ministry program that teaches kids the books of the Bible and various Bible verses and other things to help build a foundation for future faith in God. It is pretty popular where we live. Jumping on my soap box for a second- for the most part, I like AWANAs. HOWEVER, I really wish it had a missions emphasis because I fear that we are raising a bunch of kids who won’t see the value in missions and aren’t going to care about reaching out to others- only in having fun because that is what they do/learn/expect at church. I just have too much “GA CUTIE PIE” in me to not be satisfied with the fact that SBC churches are straying from missions education for their children. And we (SBC’ers) wonder why the Cooperative Program is struggling- people aren’t being taught the value or the function of it. Why give money to something that you don’t know what it does? Ok, off my soap box.This year was the first year for a “Puggles” class which is a class for older 2-3 year olds. Due to Sam’s age, he got to participate even though he wasn’t even 2 when it started. Also, due to his age, he gets to be a Puggle again next year- HA HA!!

Anyway, they started the program by saying the pledge to the American flag, Christian flag, AWANA flag, and Bible.

From May 2011


Then the Puggles went up on stage first to receive their certificates. There were 4 Puggles and thankfully, Sam stood on our side of the sanctuary so I was able to get pictures. Yay!! The cute little girl he is standing with is our Pastor’s youngest- and she is so funny. She is older than Sam so she will actually promote out of Puggles and into cubbies next year. The lady in the middle is one of their teachers.

From May 2011


It came as no surprise to me that our son was the one out of all the kids who went up on stage tonight that said hey to his mommy and daddy. It was quite funny. He is such the extravert.

Sam received his certificate from David, our children’s minister.

From May 2011

Then the other groups went up. I think I skipped a group picture somewhere. Oops!
These are the cubbies- the age group above Sam’s class.

From May 2011

I did skip one- the Sparks.

These are the Truth N Training kids. (I think that was their name.)

From May 2011

Afterwards, we got a picture of our Puggle with his certificate.

From May 2011

When I got home, I scanned his two attendance sheets. He got a sticker each time he was at AWANAs. Sam liked pointing to some of the animals and telling me their sounds.
This was the one from the Fall semester.

From May 2011


This is the Spring semester.

From May 2011

I am looking forward to next year. I think Sam will get more out of it when he isn’t one of the 2 “babies” of the class. Also, he didn’t really start “talking” until towards the end of the year so next year we should be able to work on memorizing the “Puggles Precepts” (aka Bible verse) for the various units. Thankfully, the little girl who is 3 days younger than Sam will be doing Puggles again next year as well. Therefore, Sam won’t be the only “repeat offender.” HA!

🙂
Steph

