At the beginning of the month, Sam and I visited my grandparents. NC has an awesome rail system and for $22 (me) and $11 (Sam), we were able to ride the Amtrak train from Raleigh to Salisbury, NC. It is a commuter train that only runs from Raleigh to Charlotte, thus the cheap price. Sam absolutely loved it! Here he is waiting on the train and showing off his ticket…

From June 2011


I quickly made a video of Sam on the train. He had been telling me what the “boy at whoa whoa mall” (aka the boy who drives the train through our local mall) says. He says “All Aboard!!”

Once we boarded, Sam was all into checking things out and people watching. Apparently, NC utilizes senior adult volunteers to assist passengers with things, tell them neat stuff about NC, and interact with kids. Our man, gave all the kiddos (there were quite a few!) crayons and an activity book. Sam enjoyed his.

From June 2011


Sam really enjoyed checking out the passing scenery. Yes, he was wearing his “leash”- it is my sanity saver. I had to load/unload Sam, his car seat, his little suitcase, and our big suitcase so I needed to be sure that he wouldn’t run off. 🙂

From June 2011


Greensboro has the coolest train station. When you get off, you ride the escalator down and walk through the depot to get out to street level. I really like the view of Greensboro in this picture.

From June 2011


The train had a snack car that we checked out. I let Sam pick something out of the snack machine to eat. He picked M&Ms, his favorite chocolate snack- and one that he doesn’t get often at all.

From June 2011


Once we got to Salisbury, my aunt picked us up from the station. We spent the night with them so that my mom could swing by and pick us up on her way to my grandparents. Sam helped Aunt Jtan make yummy blueberry streusel muffins for breakfast.

From June 2011


My cousin, Kyle, and his wife, Anna, visited for supper that night. My aunt is a special ed teacher and her school bought the special ed department iPads to use with their kiddos. They already pre-installed tons of apps on it and Sam enjoyed playing with it and “teaching” Kyle and Anna how to use it.

From June 2011


For supper, Aunt Jtan made a baked ziti. As is our little family custom, Sam was stripped to his undies since it was a tomato-based pasta and usually gets kind of messy. Aunt Jtan let Sam borrow one of her aprons to “cover up” with as well.

From June 2011


Kyle and Anna were going out of town the next day to celebrated their 1st Anniversary. Therefore, Uncle David and Aunt Jtan were “babysitting” their dog, Lucy. Sam loved it and immediately wanted to help do EVERYTHING for Lucy. Here he is walking her in the backyard.

From June 2011


My Aunt and Uncle had to go to work the next morning, so I let Lucy (“Woosby” according to Sam) hang out with us. She is a ridiculously good dog and it was a nice change of pace from our high strung, opinionated, ball of energy that we live with.

From June 2011


Sam tried to use Lucy’s leash as a belt. HA HA!

From June 2011


To break up our time, we took Lucy on a “walk” around the side yard. I made a cute little video of Sam and Lucy together. I think Sam would trade Kyle and Anna for Lucy any day- I know I would! 🙂

Once my mom arrived and we loaded up, we grabbed a quick bite to eat. It wasn’t too long before our back seat passenger looked like this-

From June 2011


and he slept for the majority of the way to my grandparents’ house.

🙂
Steph

