So Sam and I got back from visiting my grandparents on a Friday. That next day, we went to the mall to just hang out- we had no other reason than to just relax and do things as a family. While we were in there, we decided that Sam could try the trampoline “thing” that he always has enjoyed watching. It is an innertube with a jump “zone” on top and the person jumping is strapped in and pulled up via GIGANTIC rubber bands so that they can jump very high and cut flips and things. It looks really fun. Well, we let Sam try it out. He was a bit scared at first- probably because he couldn’t understand why he was being strapped in and why I couldn’t hold him. However, once he got to jumping he had a BLAST!! Watch the video below to see…

The next day, Travis left for Phoenix to go to the SBC National Convention. He had to help man the SEBTS booth and promote the SCP program that he created. Therefore, Sam and I did a variety of silly things to pass the time. One day, Sam decided to torment Peeper with some fun oven mitts that Sam chooses to use as puppets.

Speaking of Peeper, when Travis isn’t at home Peeper claims the recliner. One day, he was passed out in the funniest position I have ever seen him sleep in. Unfortunately, he woke up as I was turning on my camera but, thankfully, he never moved. I “had” to take a picture. 🙂

From June 2011


Here was another position he got himself in.

From June 2011


Sam made a mess with his cereal one morning so I made him clean it up. However, I forgot that requiring a child to clean up something when said child enjoys cleaning isn’t really a punishment at all. Oops!

From June 2011


Later that day, we went to the mall. Sam insisted on wearing his “gobbles” and I insisted on leashing him. He looked pretty silly.

From June 2011


Wednesday night, I watched the IMB commissioning service at the SBC convention online. One of my bridesmaids and her husband and daughter are being sent to SE Asia to serve as missionaries. I love “taking pictures” with my computer. This is the newly appointed IMB President, Dr. Ezell (I think I spelled that correctly.)

From June 2011


They then showed a slideshow to spur people on to share the gospel. This is just a guy that was in my Old Testament class at NOBTS my first semester. I think he was in a couple of other classes too but OT was the most memorable. He preached in chapel during “Senior Week” and made the comment that he passed a test in his OT class on the Pentateuch that Moses couldn’t have passed. HA! Thankfully, I passed that same test too. 🙂

From June 2011


Ok, yeah, it’s David Platt. The author of the ever-so-popular book, Radical. Regardless, he was still in my OT class. 🙂

They couldn’t show the missionaries online due to security reasons. Therefore a slideshow was streamed while they introduced themselves to convention attendees. This slide was shown several times- I like it.

From June 2011

This is the slide that was shown when James and Kristie were introducing themselves. I have saved it into my wallpaper folder file on my computer so randomly it is the background on my computer. It reminds me to pray for them. I have also copied their prayer card and inserted it at the top right side of my blog.

From June 2011


They are coming to visit in July and I can’t wait. The last time we saw each other, Sam was itty bitty (in months, not in size) and Kristie was pregnant with Rebekah. Every time we have gone to Mississippi they have been unable to come down to the coast or have been up in Oklahoma visiting James’ family. To say I am excited about their upcoming visit would be a huge understatement!

Travis got back LATE that Thursday night. Sunday was Father’s Day and Sam made Travis a tie. Ignore Travis’ hair…

From June 2011

Here are Sam and his Daddy on Father’s Day…

From June 2011

That night, Sam took Travis out to eat. He even was so nice as to pay for dinner himself. 🙂

From June 2011


From June 2011


As we were leaving, Sam banged the gong to celebrate having such a wonderful dad!

From June 2011

Sometime during that weekend, Sam went out of the house dressed like this…

From June 2011


He loves to dress silly. 🙂

I made a pie to take to some friends’ house and it called for whipped cream. Therefore, I made some from scratch- for the first time! It was super yummy!

From June 2011

I have been on a crafty kick lately. Here are the new envelopes in my Dave Ramsey wallet. I love them- they are much thicker and they actually match the color scheme of my wallet.

From June 2011


From June 2011

Last week, Sam and I went to see his first movie in the theater- Charlotte’s Web, the one with real animals. Sam had to a “cool boy” and wear his sunglasses up the escalator from the parking garage.

From June 2011


He enjoyed the movie but not so much the popcorn. All he could talk about were the gummies that are served with the “kid’s meal.”

From June 2011


This past weekend, we went to Travis’ parents to visit. I made a video of Sam telling us what he wanted to do while he was there.

Translation: “eat rice with Mum Gail and Papa Earl”

Sorry for the length, thanks for trudging through!!

🙂
Steph

