So I am totally surprised that I am writing this post and Sam isn’t even three years old yet. My mom told me that I was potty trained by the time I was 18 months but, I have always heard that boys are HARD and LATE to be potty trained. I was also advised by several people to not push it and just let him decide when he is ready. That is what I did. We bought some cotton undies because, just like with diapers, I did not want to use disposables. I washed them, put them in his dresser in the same drawer as his socks so he constantly saw them. We would talk about his “cotton undies” periodically as well.

Right around Memorial Day weekend, Sam decided that he wanted to start going “pee pee in da pobby”- and he never looked back! He wet his cotton undies one time real well and decided that was not fun or comfortable. I did have some pull-ups that he used at church the first couple of times and when we rode the train, just in case. We never called them pull-ups though- they were his “blue undies.” It is probably silly but I wanted him to think they were “like” his cotton undies and therefore wouldn’t want to pee pee in them. Apparently it worked because he was going EVERYWHERE in cotton undies 1.5 weeks after starting the potty training process.

I LOVED not having to deal with diapers anymore but was totally fine with him requesting a “blue undy” when he needed to poop. Again, I had been told to not force it as he will do it when he is ready. Well, a little over a month after starting to pee pee in the potty, Sam pooped in the potty! He LOVED IT! Granted, he does get a teeny bag of M&Ms when he does it- but, he knows that “prize” will be done once he eats all the bags in the pantry. Thankfully, he is a once a day boy so it is taking awhile. In addition, the first time he “went #2” he got to go to a store where everything costs less than $5 and pick out an item. That was HILARIOUS! He wanted a ball, then he wanted a puzzle, then a game, then a fly swatter… Needless to say, he changed his little mind a lot. Finally, he settled on a SpongeBob fishing game and immediately recruited his daddy to go fishing with him when he got home.

From July 2011


They were so cute fishing together.

From July 2011


Since then, there has been no looking back. We’ve only had one accident in the car but that was because the driver (it wasn’t me- hint hint) thought Sam could hold it for another 10-15 minutes. Oops! HA! It is all cleaned up and doesn’t smell so it is all good. He now goes by himself, pulls his shorts and undies down and then back up, flushes, and washes his hands when he is home. He doesn’t wipe but that is OK- it helps me prove he really pooped because a lot of times he flushes while he is sitting on the potty and I don’t know if he really earned his M&Ms. ๐Ÿ™‚

I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE having a potty trained child- and he isn’t even 3 years old yet!! WOO HOO!!!

๐Ÿ™‚
Steph

