So I FINALLY attempted a once a month cooking day. I’ve been reading the Once a Month Mom’s blog for several years but have never attempted one of her cooking days. I have thought about and talked about doing it several times but just never got around to it. Well, last week I discovered that she has a gluten free/ dairy free OAM menu! I immediately jumped on that and tried it.

We did one thing the night before (mixed a cornbread batter) so it could soak for awhile. The rest of it, I started at 9:49am on Saturday morning. See… here’s proof!

From September 2011


Travis helped out by taking Sam out to breakfast and then wandering around the mall to kill some time. I chopped veggies the entire 3 hours they were gone. I was SOOOOOO thankful for my food processor because it definitely sped things up. This picture is of some potatoes I shredded in the food processor.

From September 2011


Travis and Sam arrived home shortly after 1 and Sam took his nap. Travis then came into the kitchen to help me. I was FINALLY to the putting things together/cooking as needed stage. We did that non-stop until a little after 6:30pm. By that time, we were FINALLY finished with all the meals we had all the ingredients for. Apparently, the formulas they use aren’t consistent. They give you the recipes based on 1 person eating the meal. There is a box where you input how many people will actually be eating it and it reconfigures your recipes so they make the right amount. Well, I ran into several recipes where an item or two didn’t multiply correctly or the amount stated on the grocery list didn’t agree with the recipe or even the ingredient didn’t make the grocery list. We were very frustrated as we dealt with these issues. I was sooooo tired by the end of the day though that I wasn’t about to go to the store, buy the random items that I needed, and come back to finish them. Therefore, we just didn’t do 2 of the dinners. We still ended up with a full freezer though…

From September 2011

Clean-up and prep were CRAZY in our kitchen. Apparently our kitchen is way too small for such a cooking endeavor. We were assembling meals on our kitchen table, cooking a chili in a crockpot on the random little cabinet by the fridge, and cooling muffins in our laundry closet! HA! It was CRAZY!

From September 2011

I am glad I have the meals because that means I am basically done with BIG grocery shopping for the month. However, it was so exhausting and a bit frustrating that I don’t think I will do it again for a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG time- if ever. I am also figuring out that the “take the meal out of the freezer the night before to thaw” method doesn’t work for us- it is STILL frozen by dinner time the next day! UGH!! I don’t really have tons of fridge space to stockpile meals for a whole week so they are all thawed so I am definitely having to plan ahead and strategize right now.

đŸ™‚
Steph

