WOW! I am ridiculously behind in my blog updating! I knew I was behind but I didn’t realize I was THIS late. So sorry!

The week of Sam’s 3rd birthday, he stayed in Ellenboro with Travis’ parents. This was the first time he had been away from home w/o us for more than 2 nights and he did great. In fact, he did it again last week… but I will eventually get to that. πŸ™‚ He had a blast. One of the first times we talked to him on the phone, he was telling us to watch out for cow poop and then when he passed the phone back to Mrs. Gail, we could hear him telling her “Don’t step in the cow poop, Mum Gail!” It was hilarious!

For his 3rd birthday, they bought him a little four-wheeler. He calls it a motorcycle for some reason though… I am not sure what that is all about. Anyway, it has 2 speeds (which I can walk beside it even on the fast speed) and a reverse. We were kept in the dark about his gift and so we didn’t know what it was until we arrived on that Friday. I was quite impressed at his driving skills- he could follow the driveway and steer, even in reverse, correctly.

From September 2011


From September 2011


From September 2011


Sam also helped Mum Gail plant some bulbs throughout the yard. He really enjoyed that.

From September 2011


I think he liked it because he got to wear a pair of work gloves (or, glove-us, as Sam would say.)

From September 2011


From September 2011


From September 2011


From September 2011


That afternoon, we headed downtown to the Ellenboro Fair. This is an annual fair that Travis enjoys going to because he ALWAYS runs into people he hasn’t seen since the last fair. I like going because I love fair rides and seeing the old motor-things (I don’t know what they are) chugging away in the parking lot. Sam LOVES going because he wants to ride every ride out there. This year, he was able to ride some by himself. Next year, he will be tall enough to at least RIDE with someone on every ride and most rides he will be able to ride by himself. I am looking forward to the bumper cars next year- he was 1.5 inches too short to ride with me this year. Bummer!

The first ride we rode was the train, he wanted me to ride it with him so I did. Thankfully, the subsequent train rides were unaccompanied because my legs are a bit long for that ride. πŸ™‚

From September 2011


From September 2011


Next, he was on to the Bumblebees. These are super similar to the Dumbo ride in the Magic Kingdom… they just alternate going up and down as they go around in a circle.

From September 2011

From September 2011

Then, he and I got in line for the “Super Slide”. Wee!!!

From September 2011


From September 2011


From September 2011


From September 2011


From September 2011


From September 2011


We found Dora!!

From September 2011


FINALLY, the ride he kept asking to ride opened- the Ferris Wheel and so we hopped on it.

From September 2011


From September 2011


Have I ever mentioned how much I HATE getting stopped at the very top of the ferris wheel? Yikes!

From September 2011


We survived!!

From September 2011


We rode the slide at least 3 more times. This girls “glasses” crack me up.

From September 2011


He rode the “motorcycles” and actually ended up sharing his 4-wheeler with the granddaughter of someone that goes to Travis’ home church (or at least I think that is how he knew the grandma.)

From September 2011


I think she was about a month older than Sam.

From September 2011


Sam was a little gentleman and helped her get out when the ride was over. She couldn’t figure out how to get unbuckled and Sam is a pro at unbuckling. It was really cute.

From September 2011


From September 2011


Next up was a solo train ride.

From September 2011


It was H-O-T and so we headed to cool off and find supper shortly after that train ride. On our way to the car, we walked past the old motor “things” I referred to earlier.

From September 2011


After supper, we headed to Lowe’s for Mrs. Gail to get some more flowers. Sam decided to use some of his birthday money and buy himself a little yellow Mum that was 88 cents. He named it “Lowe’s the flower” and that makes me laugh. He took great care of it until we left for our Mississippi trip and I forgot to bring it along. 😦

From September 2011


You can see Lowe’s the flower sitting on the flatbed.

From September 2011


After a little bit more 4-wheeler fun on Sunday morning, we packed up and headed back home. It was a quick weekend but a weekend full of fun!

πŸ™‚
Steph

