After we left Ellenboro, we were only home for 3 days before leaving again. However, we did manage to pack a lot of fun into those three days.

When we got home, Sam had birthday presents from a couple of Aunts & Uncles waiting on him. After we unpacked, he went to work opening their gifts.

From September 2011

 


This box, from my Aunt Jtan, had lots of cool stuff in it. Sam enjoys playing with it all now. However, at the time he was just interested in the bubble wrap! HA!

From September 2011

 


He is checking out his new game…

From September 2011

 


Then he moved on to the box from my Aunt Jacky…
“Ohh! Aminals” (that is how he says it)

From September 2011

 


She also gave him some of those fun pills that you drop in water and out “hatches” a sponge animal. I LOVE THOSE THINGS!!

From September 2011

 


Finally, he opened our gift. (Please disregard the Christmas wrapping paper.)

From September 2011

 


It was a Leapfrog Zippity game. It connects to your TV and you play games and such on it. It is really neat. However, I think he might still be a bit young for it. I still have it out because every once and awhile we try it but he just doesn’t get the concept of moving the stick to select something or answering a question.

From September 2011

 



From September 2011

 


While Travis was putting the batteries in, Sam went back to the bubble wrap. 🙂

From September 2011

 



From September 2011

 


Once gifts were done, it was time for Lowe’s the Flower to get watered.

From September 2011

 


And there she sat…

From September 2011

 


After Sam went to bed, I worked on a project that I had been wanting to do for awhile- a growth chart ruler. I found the idea on Pinterest (sorry- I don’t have the link to the actual project right now) and ran with it. I thought it would be fun to put our last name down the side of the ruler- like the little ruler I was using as a reference. In case you are wondering, it is a 6 foot piece of wood but I started it at “1” so that we could hang it a foot off the floor and it go to 7″ for height. I plan on marking Sam’s height (and weight- for a few more years) on his birthday each year and I am fully expecting him to eventually be over 6 feet tall. Hopefully, he won’t be taller than 7 feet though. YIKES!

From September 2011

 


Nice! I am 6.5 feet tall. HA!

From September 2011

 


While we were in Mississippi, Travis hung the ruler for me. He posted a picture on Facebook of it so I could see it. If you look closely, you can see where I marked mine height and then towards the bottom are Sam’s heights. Travis apparently cropped his height out. HA HA! I started Sam’s records at birth and put on there all the stats from his well visits.

From September 2011

 


On that Monday night, my parents arrived after Sam had gone to bed. Travis and I were up decorating a cookie cake for Sam’s VERY unofficial birthday party we had the next day. Once he woke up on Tuesday morning, he was elated to find out that Mum Jubie and Dad Buddy were sleeping in the guest room. Sam has a bucket of dress-up clothes that he LOVES to play with. My mom and I love finding halloween costumes for super cheap to go in his bucket and she brought one with her. Sam put it on and played his Zippity game in it…

From September 2011

 


For lunch, we went to the seminary and ate our sandwiches/roll-ups/leftovers… it is typically whatever I bring with us. We don’t really eat the food in The Court because it isn’t gluten free at all and so it is easier and cheaper for me to bring everything than for me to pack me something and they buy something. Anyway… we all headed up there and, to Sam’s surprise, his buddy Ari and his parents were there! I had called them and told me about Sam’s “party” and so they ate lunch with us and then we shared a gluten free cookie cake (I refuse to cooke/bake something that I can’t eat- HA!)

From September 2011

 


Sam wanted a Dora birthday party and Travis didn’t want Dora on a cake. Therefore, I put Swiper (who is Sam’s FAVORITE Dora character) on his cookie cake. I really love baking cookie cakes for birthdays- it is so much easier. However, I thought I would NEVER get Swiper finished because I tried this new method of stuffing the piping bags and it made the icing nearly impossible to squeeze out so my hands and arms were EXHAUSTED. Travis came to my rescue and did part of the cake for me. Whew!

From September 2011

Sam loved having us sing “Happy Birthday” to him.

From September 2011

 


Unfortunately, I forgot COMPLETELY to get a picture of Sam and his one little party guest. Sorry, Ari! 😦

Back at la casa, Sam enjoyed playing with goodies brought by his grandparents. He really enjoyed this water trumpet bath toy. It is neat. You fill the different test tube looking compartments with different levels of water and so when you play it makes different notes.

From September 2011

 


That night, we went to Red Robin for another birthday dinner.

From September 2011

Sam completely enjoyed his birthday sundae- right down to the last little bit.

From September 2011

 


When we returned home, he got a bath and got ready for bed and immediately started playing with the bubble wrap again. I think his PJs are hilarious- he was adamant that those were the ones he wanted to wear. They are a 3T!! HA HA!

From September 2011

 


The next day, Wednesday, we went to his three month check up (height 40.5″ & weight 44lb) and then up to the seminary for Travis and I to get flue shots. After a quick lunch at Moe’s, my parents, Sam and I departed for SC to see my grandparents.

🙂
Steph

