So, after Sam’s 3 year check-up and mine and Travis’ flu shots, Sam and I loaded up in the van with my parents and drove to SC. We first headed to my mom’s parents in Kershaw and we stayed there two nights.

We take Hwy 1 to get to SC because it is a MUCH SMOOTHER road than I-95. There isn’t much for Sam to look at on that road and so he entertained himself with the DVD player in my parents’ van. This time, he discovered the ear phones and after FINALLY understanding that he couldn’t hear his movie if he removed them, he kept them on- even during his nap!

From September 2011


Once we got to Kershaw, we did “the usual”- go to church and walk to the lake. I have no pictures from church though. Sorry!
Sam was obviously feeling the need to help my mom walk down the hill to the lake.

From September 2011


My dad and I like to be camera dorks and take pictures of each other taking pictures. Seriously, I think we do this at least once every time we are together. HA!

From September 2011


Once at the lake, Sam immediately started throwing rocks in. He loves doing that. I can’t wait for him to get a bit older so Travis can teach him how to skip rocks. I can do it but not consistently- Travis is GOOD!

From September 2011


From September 2011


From September 2011


On the way back up the hill, my grandpa introduced Sam to mushroom kicking. Sam absolutely had a ball kicking over the plethora of mushrooms along the road. HA!

From September 2011


From September 2011


One night he was so tired that he crawled up in Papa’s lap and immediately fell asleep. It was so sweet. Sam has always been a buddy of Papa’s.

From September 2011


After two nights, we got up on Friday morning to pack the car and head to see my other grandma. First, Sam had to have his picture taken with the weirdest sweet potato I have ever seen.

From September 2011


From September 2011


We got to my other grandma’s around lunch and so we visited with her on my Aunt’s deck- the weather was wonderful! If I am doing my math correctly, my grandma is 94 years old! WOW!

From September 2011


Sam loves his Mama, too.

From September 2011


Sam also loves his great-Aunt Brenda and great-Uncle Don.

From September 2011


I thought it was funny that their pool was a dirt hole- they were/are in the process of getting a new liner.

From September 2011


After visiting for a bit, we hopped back in the car and went to Georgia to spend the night with my Aunt Jacky.

🙂
Steph

