So, on October 1st, we headed to Mississippi from my Aunt’s house. It was a very uneventful drive- thankfully. One of our “always” stops is at Priester’s in Fort Deposit, AL (exit 142 off I-65) because they have yummy candy samples, good bathrooms, and a cutesy gift shop I like to roam in periodically. If you stop on a week day, you can see the people making the various candies they sell- however, we were there on a Saturday so it was just a nice hall for Sam to run up and down in to burn some energy. Then, before we hopped back in our car, Sam got to ride on the tire swings. He loves those things!

From October 2011

After church and nap on Sunday, Sam and my mom participated in a marching band. It was hilarious! They marched down the newly poured sidewalk all the way to the end of the street (NOT very far at all), turned around and started marching back, only to turn around again, to wave to a train that was passing by.

From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


The next day, we had some errands to run. One of them included a trip to Target in D’Iberville. While there, we found the best gift ever for my dad- an Atlanta Falcon pillow pet! Why IN THE WORLD this Target was selling Dirty Birds along side of Gumbeaux (The Saints dog) is beyond me. Sam enjoyed riding it around in the buggy beside of him.

From October 2011


I enjoyed using “dirty bird” as a paper weight. HA!

From October 2011


From October 2011


I do have to admit- the Dirty Bird does have an adorable face.

When my dad got off work, we walked back up to the train tracks so that Sam could get his first sno-ball from Mrs. Mickey.

From October 2011


He chose a grape one.

From October 2011


He really liked drinking the syrup.

From October 2011


But, eventually, he started eating it.

From October 2011


He really liked it but the sweetness started to get to him because he got to the point where he didn’t want any. The next SEVERAL times that we went while we were down there, he chose a more “calm” flavor (like Banana) where as I stuck with my favorite- Tiger’s Blood.

After the sno-ball, we walked across the street to the really old park. Sam liked playing on it and was even more excited when a train came by. In case you haven’t figured it out yet, my parents live by a very busy train track and so there are trains all.the.time. Unfortunately, even throughout the night. One night I couldn’t sleep and I heard/felt a train every 30 minutes. No kidding!

From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


Are you wondering what he was so happy about seeing? This…

From October 2011


I liked taking shadow pictures of myself.

From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


If it weren’t for my dad’s shadow on the left, I could trick you into thinking Sam can swing by himself. πŸ™‚

From October 2011

That was it for the first weekend. Stay tuned for an update on Sam’s “most favorite” thing he did while we were in Mississippi!!

πŸ™‚
Steph