Again, sorry for the delay but I am still trudging through updates and holiday preparations so bear with me.

The weekend after the train ride during our Mississippi trip, the 3 coastal counties held their annual Cruisin’ the Coast antique car show. This is always one of my favorite weekends and I was SOOOOO excited that we were able to attend. Antique cars cruise up and down Hwy 90 (the road that runs along the beach) across the Mississippi coast. In Bay St Louis on Saturday, some of the cars park and you can walk up and down the street checking them out. My parents’ church, FBC Bay St Louis, has a men’s ministry that does an outreach event during Cruisin’ called “Cruisin’ for Christ” and they pass out FREE hot dogs, jambalaya (yummy), drinks, and desserts to anyone that wants one. My dad designs a different t-shirt each year with a different antique car on the back. They are neat. Church members buy them to help increase awareness of Cruisin’ for Christ and FBC. However, my mom learned this year that some of the repeat visitors to the BSL Cruisin’ buy the church’s shirts because they are nicely designed and cheaper than the “official” shirts- HA HA!!

This wasn’t Sam’s first Cruisin- he went when he was just over a year old as well. However, this was the first year that he was remotely interested in cars. Since then, he has become OBSESSED (to put it mildly) with cars and learning the different automakers. I think if they did Cruisin again this coming weekend and Sam was able to go he would go completely insane from all the cars he now knows. HA HA! Anyway, he rode around in his “yellow car” and checked out the cars as well as made some adults jealous because he didn’t have to walk around in the heat. HA HA! Again, I snapped way too many pictures so I will only post my favorites. However, if you want to see more old cars just click on any picture below and you will go to the October album where they are all posted.

We started off our morning by eating at the “Cruise In Cafe” (no lie, that is its 365-days-a-year name) and it is my parents favorite eating “joint.” Eating there wasn’t that big of a deal. It was what was parked in the parking lot that was the big deal…

From October 2011


From October 2011

Yes, my friends, that is Kit, the Knight Rider car! I have seen it at previous Cruisins but it always excites me. I LOVED watching Knight Rider when I was growing up. My dad figured out who the owner was and he let us go out there and take pictures with him (you know Kit is a boy.) :) My dad was in charge of the camera. I was in charge of making sure Sam didn't push any buttons that might blow up the building. HA HA! Sam REALLY liked getting in Kit.

From October 2011


From October 2011


We saw the owner, Officer Bob (he works for the sheriff's dept), that next week and he told us that he always takes Kit because the kids (big and small) love looking at him and he thinks Cruisin' is supposed to be fun and for the kids. He gets frustrated with the people who put signs on their cars about not touching or who hover around their cars all day waxing or buffing. Well, while he was there, a guy came up and asked him "How much do you want for your car?" and when he told him it wasn't for sale, the man persisted. Eventually, Officer Bob sold Kit for an undisclosed amount of money and so I don't know if he will ever be at Cruisin' again. 😦 I also really want to know how much that guy paid for it but I couldn't bring myself to ask. I am sure it was NOT cheap.

After breakfast, we headed downtown. Sam enjoyed his yellow car ride. I had packed his Diego "rescue pack" with surprises and so he enjoyed dressing up while riding around checking out the cars. He is such a nut!

From October 2011


Now, onto the cars...

From October 2011


From October 2011


an example of a "do not touch" vehicle...

From October 2011


My dad owns a 1970 Plymouth Duster that is also yellow. I am always told to be on the lookout for Dusters and I finally found one this year. My dad walked down there with us later and informed me that this was a little different from his (I think it might be a year or two younger) but it looks very similar.

From October 2011


I absolutely love this truck and would totally drive it everywhere if it were mine.

From October 2011


From October 2011


This car made me think of Travis, so I snapped a couple of pictures- it is an Alfa Romeo.

From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


"Mommy, a WHO DAT!!!!"

From October 2011


From October 2011


KIT!!!!

From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


There is ALWAYS at least one General Lee (complete with the loud annoying horn)...

From October 2011


I think Sam liked his hot dog...

From October 2011


Here are the random SHORT video clips I made...




The last thing I am going to post are pictures I took of our various Cruisin' for Christ shirts. I am missing a few but I have the vast majority of them. I really like the new guy he has printing his shirts for him because they seem to hold up much better after multiple washings- and I wash ours a lot because I wear at least one a week in the summer. The first one is this year's shirt. The others are in no particular order...

From November 2011


From November 2011


Last year there was a big stink about the church using "Cruisin" in their shirts- they were told they didn't have the right to do that. However, after some digging, it was discovered that the church CAN use "Cruisin" so this is the only shirt with a "G"- silly silly people.

From November 2011


From November 2011


From November 2011


This was one of the first...

From November 2011


From November 2011


Just a shameless plug for my dad, if anyone is looking for shirts to be designed you should let me know. πŸ™‚ I know a phenomenal graphic designer (in the old-school draw it out way or doing it all by computer). If you would like to chip in some money and help him buy what he needs to start his own screen printing business, he would be forever grateful and would definitely give you a discount or free shirt or two. That is one of his "retirement dreams"- to have a screen printing business and do it for churches and other smaller organizations.

Well, I hope you enjoyed checking out the old cars. I know I did.

πŸ™‚
Steph

