So, it is now January 2012 and I am still posting updates from October 2011. To say I am behind would  be a HUGE understatement. Sorry!!

Back to Mississippi…

After Cruisin’ the Coast, my dad took a day off from work and we headed over into New Orleans to go to the Audobon Aquarium.

From October 2011


The only other aquarium that Sam had been to was one of the NC Aquariums in 2010. Therefore, it had been awhile and he was older so we thought he would be more interested. He was interested for the first part but then just got tired. I guess to a 3 year old if you’ve seen one fish, you’ve seen them all. Right? HA!

The first thing we did was go to the stingray tank. We timed it great- it was about time to feed the stingrays! We bought a coin that allowed Sam to feed the rays and then got in line. First, Sam was able to pet the rays…

From October 2011


Then he was shown how to feed the rays. It kind of freaked him out and so he wouldn’t let them eat out of his hand and would just drop them into the water. HA!

From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


Here is the video I made of Sam feeding the rays… to watch it, click on the “picture” and you will go to another website where the video will play. I forgot to upload the videos to YouTube instead.

From October 2011


After the rays, Sam visited the penguins and seemed to really enjoy them. He had a long “conversation” with this penguin about “Grandmama and Papa’s two garage doors that go up and down”…

From October 2011


Then we went to the Mississippi River exhibit and I decided to get all artsy and blur the water on the waterfall.

From October 2011


Sam and Mum Jubie got their picture taken with a HUGE catfish.

From October 2011


Sam’s catfish face…

From October 2011


Then, near the “food court”, they had an enclosed area where you can go feed birds. I still don’t understand the connection of the birds with the aquarium but it was still a neat thing to do.

From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


I think they were having problems with the leash length restriction…

From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


From October 2011


Again, this next picture is actually a link to a video I made while feeding the birds. Click on it and you will be able to watch the video.

From October 2011


In case you can’t tell from the overabundance of photos, this was my favorite part of the aquarium. I LOVED feeding the birds. Sam wouldn’t hold a stick by himself unless a bird wasn’t around. If I bird came close, he would get spooked and one of us would have to help him hold it.
By this point, Sam was starting to get tired and lose interest quickly. So, we started plopping him on things and taking pictures. HA!

From October 2011


I love alligator exhibits… so does, Sam!

From October 2011


From October 2011


We also visited the BIG tank during a talk about the various animals…

From October 2011


The turtle below has been at the aquarium ever since it opened- a LONG time ago.

From October 2011


I tried to take some jellyfish pictures but the ability to take good shots of jellyfish still resides with Travis. This is the best shot I got…

From October 2011


Sam was REALLY tired by this point but managed to smile for a pic with Mum Jubie and Dad Buddy.

From October 2011


When we left, I took a couple of pictures of the “Mighty Mississip”…

From October 2011


From October 2011


Sam felt the need to check out far away planets…

From October 2011


Then he and Dad Buddy watched the Canal Street Auto Ferry leave land and across the river to the West Bank.

From October 2011


One of my favorite French Quarter artists…

From October 2011


The next time Travis and I go to the Quarter, we are totally renting one of these…

From October 2011


I also took a few shots of some shirts in the aquarium gift shop. They didn’t have Sam’s size in the first one or else, I would’ve gotten it. It was my favorite.

From October 2011


This would be an appropriate shirt for me…

From October 2011


Quick drive by the ol’ Alma Mater… (given the location, I probably shouldn’t use the words “drive by” in reference to it- oops!)

From October 2011


It was a very fun day and we hope to be able to go back again when Sam is older and can be more interested in all of the fish.

🙂
Steph

