Travis had a long weekend the weekend following Martin Luther King Day and so we took our Equinox to Mississippi to have a long overdue tune-up done by a family friend. Since this was the first time we drove to Waveland from Pineville, I kept my camera ready. However, it quickly got dark and so I didn’t take any photos. I did, however, take some on the way home. It is a nice scenic 4 hour drive. πŸ™‚
In the picture below we are about to cross the “Huey P Long Bridge”. This may seem insignificant to folks who’ve never lived in NOLA but, there is a Huey P Long Bridge in NOLA too. It even looks the same- complete with a train track overhead. We thought that was kind of odd. Thankfully, this bridge is a bit wider. The other scares the b-jeezus out of me!

From January 2012


From January 2012


Hello, mighty Mississipp…

From January 2012


Then we drove through what seemed to be the middle of nowhere cajunville. Now that I think about, we were in the middle of nowhere. πŸ™‚

Only in Louisiana do cows graze on levees.

From January 2012


Hmm… maybe because there are no other restaurants around? I don’t know… we didn’t stop…

From January 2012


Do you remember a few years ago when the mid-west was heavily flooded and the news made a big deal about Louisiana opening the Morganza spillway to divert the water from New Orleans and having it flood again? Well, here we are driving over that spillway…

From January 2012


The “big” town of Krotz Springs…

From January 2012


If I stereotype cajun towns, this is what I think of… (sorry, just being honest)

From January 2012


From January 2012


We even passed a FEMA trailer storage facility. Judging by the looks of these trailers, these were some given out after Katrina…

From January 2012


From January 2012


From January 2012


Thanks for the warning! HA!

From January 2012

The only exciting thing that happened while we were in Mississippi was that we got to watch Sam bike on flat land! He had so much fun- and I made a video. He rode his bike while my parents were at our house but it was in the sloping parking lot across the street so he was mainly cruising down hill. πŸ™‚

πŸ™‚
Steph

