Travis didn’t have to work on Martin Luther King Day. Therefore, we took advantage of the holiday and planned a family zoo trip. Our membership covers the 3 of us and 1 guest. Since my parents were still with us, we had to only pay for one person and we chose my dad for that because he qualified for the senior rate (same as a child)- YAY! Not too shabby!

I will try not to post a bunch of “just animal” photos since I did that back in December. However, I am not making any promises. ๐Ÿ™‚

Creepy baby gators in the dark…

From January 2012


From January 2012


They still had their Christmas decorations up which was nice.

From January 2012


Sam had just given the bear outside the cajun cabin a hug. He’s so sweet…

From January 2012


The strange fairy garden? We don’t know what this is all about… we just know they change it out because when we went in December it was Christmas themed and now it is Mardi Gras themed.

From January 2012


From January 2012


He’s so pretty- even through cloudy plexiglass…

From January 2012


The turtle on the right just seems to be in an “I am exhausted” position. HA HA!

From January 2012


From January 2012


With Dad Buddy…

From January 2012


One of the nice things about this zoo is that, so far, it has never been crowded and the zookeepers roam about and will talk to you. We have also learned that the best time to go is in the morning because the animals are fairly active since they are being fed breakfast. One zookeeper had just seen us at the leopards and told us about the leopards personalities. Apparently, “Sabrina” is a food hog. HA HA! Then, we met back up with her at the emus and she was telling us how mean the emus were. HA! Travis and I had kind of figured that out when we were there in December though.

From January 2012


She also told us that one of the wallabies was pregnant and a kangaroo had a joey in its pouch. Too cool! Then, we asked her what she was carrying…

From January 2012


Closer view…

From January 2012


It was an emu egg! Very big!! Very cool!! She said she has hunt for them because they hide them and they don’t want any more emus. ๐Ÿ™‚ They are actually trying to transfer some to another zoo.

Sam enjoyed feeding the fish.

From January 2012


I still think it is crazy how the fish basically beach themselves to get the food.

From January 2012

We saved the best part, to Sam at least, for last- the train ride!! He was so excited! Normally, the train doesn’t run on weekdays in January and February but, since this was a holiday the conductor was at work!! YAY!
Again, the train buddies were together…

From January 2012


Right after we got on the train, Travis and my mom started laughing. I asked what they were laughing at and my mom took a picture with my phone to show me- I got pooped on!!

From January 2012


We can’t seem to take a train ride without a video…

After the train ride we goofed off for a few minutes for heading to lunch…

From January 2012


From January 2012


From January 2012


From January 2012


From January 2012


Outside, they have a war memorial…

From January 2012


Going to the “yoo” (as Sam calls it) wore him out so he took a good nap. While he was napping Travis and my dad tried to make some trenches so that the rainwater would drain. Travis changed his pants before helping and I thought something looked a bit off as he walked out the house. However, it wasn’t until I went outside that I realized that had happen- my dad’s jeans got mixed in with Travis’! HA HA! Needless to say, my dad’s legs are not as long as Travis’. Oops! ๐Ÿ™‚

From January 2012

